Newspapers and Magazines
- Times Digital Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowProvides electronic access to full-page images of every issue of The Times (London) from 1785 to 2019.
- NIneteeth Century Serials EditionA free, online edition of six nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers.
- The Penny MagazineThe Penny Magazine was an illustrated British magazine aimed at the working class, published every Saturday from 31 March 1832 to 31 October 1845.
- Making of Modern Law This link opens in a new windowAmerican and British legal history from 1800 through 1926, including casebooks, works for lay readers, pamplets, letters, and speeches.
Dates Covered: 1800-1926.
Diaries and Letters
- Women's Travel DiariesThe diaries in this digital collection were written by British and American women who documented their travels to places around the globe, including India, the West Indies, countries in Europe, Africa, and the Middle East, as well as around the United States. There are over 100 diaries of varying length, selected from the following archival collections at the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University:.
- The Carlyle Letters OnlineCollection of 10,000 of letters of Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle that provides perspective on the 19th Century. The letters feature some of the most influential artistic, philosophic, and literary personalities of the day. Hosted by Duke University.
Digitized Collections of Books
- HathiTrust This link opens in a new windowImmense, continuously updated digital collection providing enhanced search and availability of millions of public domain, in-copyright, and permissioned digitized books, federal government documents and serial publications in a variety of languages from sources such as Google Books, Internet Archive, Microsoft and initiatives at partner academic and research institutions.
Access note: Freely available to the public. Current DePaul faculty, staff and students get extra functionality when logged in such as full PDF downloads of public domain and permissioned works and options to create and share content collections. To log in, click the LOGIN button and select DePaul from the list.
Extent: Multidisciplinary
- Victorian Women Writers ProjectThe Victorian Women Writers Project (VWWP) began in 1995 at Indiana University and is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. VWWP contains scores of authors, both prolific and rare.
Finding Books
Pamphlets
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes a selection of 19th century British pamphlets. To search for pamphlets, try searching for women and British (or any other keyword and British) and limiting your search results to pamphlets.
Indexes
- Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900In June 2023, this index was migrated to C19: The Nineteenth Century Index.
- Poole's Index to Periodical LiteratureIndexes 19th century periodicals. Browseable, digitized version.