Find Articles and Literary Criticism
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for MLA International Bibliography
Indexes journal articles, book chapters and more in literature, language development, linguistics and folklore; with abstracts.
Dates Covered: 1926-present. - Literature Criticism (Gale) This link opens in a new windowGreat starting place for research on any writer-including novelists, poets, and playwrights. Search across several collections for literary criticism and biographical information on writers. Includes the following series: Drama Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Poetry Criticism and Shakespearean Criticism.
Previously known as Literature Criticism Online. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull-image journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Extent: Multidisciplinary - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections on JSTOR which includes the full text of more than 2,600 journals in business, social sciences, science, and the humanities. Includes access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections including JSTOR Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Public Health Journals, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for Historical Abstracts
Indexes journals, books and dissertations on all time periods of world history, excluding the United States and Canada; for those countries use the database America: History & Life. "Dates covered" refers to publication dates included; all historic eras are addressed, from B.C. to present day.
Dates Covered: 1954-present.
- Branch CollectiveFreely available source that includes a collection of essays that provide historical context for Victorian literature.
Reputable Journals
These journals are recommended by Jennifer Conary, Professor of English. You can add these journal titles to your searches in MLA International Bibliography to limit your results to these journals. Alternatively, search for your topic and scan the results for articles from these journals.
Brontë Studies*
Critical Inquiry
Dickens Studies Annual
ELH
George Eliot – George Henry Lewes Studies*
George Eliot Review*
Journal of Narrative Theory
Journal of Victorian Culture
Narrative
Nineteenth-Century Contexts
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Nineteenth Century Studies
Notes and Queries
Novel: A Forum on Fiction
PMLA
Representations
SEL
Studies in the Novel
Victorian Literature and Culture
Victorian Newsletter
Victorian Periodicals Review
Victorian Review
Victorian Studies
VIJ: Victorians Institute Journal
* These journals are not as prestigious, but they can provide some good biographical and historical details.