Guides: Latin-American & Caribbean Art Research Guide: Background Info

Encyclopedias and Reference Tools

Encyclopedia of Latin American & Caribbean Art
Covers major artistic developments in Central and South America and the Caribbean from the colonial period to the present. The entries chart the adaptations of European artistic traditions and the evolution of individual national cultures in this area of burgeoning importance in history and the visual arts. (print)
Artists from Latin American Cultures: A Biographical Dictionary
Profiles seventy-five artists from the United States, Central and South America, and the Caribbean, offering biographical information and commentary on the work of each artist.
St. James Guide to Hispanic Artists: Profiles of Latino and Latin American Artists
Arranged alphabetically from Eduardo Abela to Francisco Zuniga, this volume provides biographical and career information, as well as critical essays, on prominent Hispanic artists. (print)
Latin American and Caribbean Artists of the Modern Era
A comprehensive reference book on the lives and works of more than 12,700 artists and architects of the 19th and 20th centuries in Latin America (Mexico, Central America, South America) and the Caribbean. (print)

Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Grove is a great place to get background information on an artist, period or style from prehistory to the modern era and is one of the most significant arts reference sources available. The print version is titled The Dictionary of Art. Part of Oxford Art Online. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Gateway to an impressive collection of art reference titles including Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.
Access note: Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
Benezit Dictionary of Artists This link opens in a new window
The Benezit Dictionary of Artists contains almost 170,000 entries on artists from antiquity to the present day and it also has thousands of auction records, museum holdings, and bibliographies. Two notable strengths are its coverage of obscure artists and its inclusion of images of artists? signatures, monograms, and stamps.
Access note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users.