Article Databases
Use these databases to search for articles related to your topic:
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from art journals and museum bulletins. Coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994; full-text coverage for selected periodicals begins in 1997. Dates Covered: 1984-Present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections on JSTOR which includes the full text of more than 2,600 journals in business, social sciences, science, and the humanities. Includes access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections including JSTOR Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Public Health Journals, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Dates Covered: 1970 - present. - Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, this bibliographic index covers a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants since 1992. Contains nearly 60,000 records from more than 2,400 journals and other resources, including newspapers, books, and book chapters.
- Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino ArtDocuments of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art: A Digital Archive and Publications Project is a multiyear initiative dedicated to the recovery and publication of primary-source materials related to Latin American and Latino art. The website provides access to writings by artists, artistic movements, critics, and curators from Mexico, Central and South America, the Caribbean, and the United States.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers performance art.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Guide to current literature of architecture and design. Covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations.
Dates Covered: 1934-present.
- Art IndexUse Art Index to locate articles from 1929-1988. Print Source.
- Bibliography of the History of ArtPeriodical index for art history scholarship (free online source)
Selected Journals
- Latin American and Latinx Visual CultureA quarterly peer-reviewed journal dedicated to publishing the most current international research on the visual culture of Mexico, Central America, South America, and the Caribbean, as well as that created in diaspora.
- CallalooThe premier journal of literature, art, and culture of the African Diaspora, publishes original work by and about writers and visual artists of African descent worldwide. Callaloo offers an engaging mixture of fiction, poetry, critical articles, interviews, drama, and visual art.
- Chiricú JournalChiricú showcases new scholarship from diverse disciplines as well as creative works of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, the visual arts, interviews, personal essays, and reviews of books, film, and exhibitions.
- Diálogo: An Interdisciplinary Studies JournalPublished by The Center for Latino Research, Diálogo is a double blind peer-reviewed publication that features original research articles and artistic work with a focus on the experiences of US Latinx/a/o, Latin American, Afro-Latinx/a/o, and Indigenous populations. Issues before 2015 are available on DePaul's institutional repository.
- Small AxeFocuses on publishing critical work that examines the ideas that guided the formation of Caribbean modernities. It mainly includes scholarly articles, opinion essays, and interviews, but it also includes literary works of fiction and poetry, visual arts, and reviews.
- JSTOR: Latin American StudiesJSTOR subject collection of journals and books related to Latin American Studies.
- Cuadernos de Historia del ArteAddresess the relationships between artistic production and cultural, social, political and economic contexts. Spanish language published in Argentina.