Criminology Research Guide: Background Information

Handbook of major issues in the field of corrections.

Handbook of major issues in the field of law and criminal justice.

Handbook of crime and criminal behavior including historical contexts of each topic and arguments for and against the ways in which legislators and courts have responded to behaviors defined as criminal.

Covers substantive topics in the field including culture, foundations, analysis, assessment, future considerations, and case studies.

Reference work in the field of criminology and criminal justice.

Serves as a reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary criminological theory. Examines the global landscape of the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in a context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses.

Covers aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history. Includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.

Covers the different forms of interpersonal violence, their incidence and prevalence, theoretical explanations, public policy initiatives, and prevention and intervention strategies. Topical categories include Civil and Criminal Legal Systems; Intervention and Prevention Programs; Legislation; Research Methods and Data Collection Instruments; Syndromes, Disorders, and Other Mental Health Issues; and Theories and Theoretical Perspectives.

Covers historical and contemporary theories, concepts, and real-world practices of juvenile justice in the United States.

Provides interdisciplinary perspectives on law from sociology, criminology, cultural anthropology, political science, social psychology, and economics.

Overview of the practice and theory of law enforcement in an historical and contemporary framework on the state and local, federal and national, and international stages.

Database focusing on massacres and genocides of the 20th century. Includes chronological indexes, case studies, analytical contributions on socio-political violence in a given country, and a glossary of terms.

Provides an overview of research, commentary, and case studies focusing on violent crime and murder.

Provides an overview of penal institutions within a historical and contemporary framework. Key themes include juvenile justice, prison architecture, prison populations, prison reform, privatization, security & classification, sentencing policy & laws, theories of punishment, and treatment programs.

Reference work addressing the interface of psychology and law. Draws from the related discipline of criminal justice.

Explores crimes connected to the urban lifestyle and includes history, major figures, initiatives, cases, theories and debates.

Draws from sociology, anthropology, criminology, politics, psychology, and religion to examine individuality in the context of a social world.

Comprehensive coverage of all aspects of constitutional law, as well as biographies of people who have had an impact on our government's legal framework (Supreme Court Justices, Presidents, Cabinet Members, Lawyers, and more). Also covers judicial decisions handed down by the Supreme Court. 2nd edition (2000).

Brings together information and knowledge on both victimology and crime prevention.

Covers the Supreme Court's entire history; its operations; its power in relation to other branches of government; major decisions affecting the other branches, the states, individual rights and liberties; and biographies of the justices.

Chapters cover the problem of transnational crime; analysis of specific transnational crimes; approaches to its control; regional geographical analyses; and practical implications.

Handbook presenting arguments in favor of and opposing various programs, treatments, and punishments concerning prevention, prosecution, and corrections for juvenile crime.

Handbook of debates concerning common duties that police must practice (e.g., arrests and interrogations), the legal regulations on those duties; problematic policing techniques; and law enforcement alternatives to traditional policing.