Research Databases
Academic Search Complete database is an excellent starting point for finding magazine and journal articles.
To find article databases focusing on a particular subject area, choose a research guide related to your topic.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowExcellent starting point for researching almost any topic. Contains scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Dates covered: 1975-present
News and Newspaper Databases
- US Newsstream (ProQuest ) This link opens in a new window
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines. Includes access to the Chicago Tribune and Wall Street Journal.
Coverage: 1980 - current - Access World News This link opens in a new window
Contains local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources including newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, newswires, and news videos.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Indexes US ethnic and minority publications; with full text.
Dates Covered: 1960-present. - Alternative Press Index & Archive This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals.
Dates Covered: 1969 - Present - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowIncludes full text of over 15,000 news, business and legal sources. Additional types of sources include wire service reports, transcripts of TV and radio broadcasts, and international news.
Search Tips: Looking for that perfect Pro/Con article?
Well, it may not exist....as a single article. Here are some strategies for finding useful articles:
(1) Add the words compar* or contrast* to your topic words.
Note: Adding an asterisk symbol (*) in most databases finds compare, compares, comparing, comparison - a more powerful search.
(2) Try pasting this string of keywords into the database search box along with your topic/issue: positive OR advantage* OR benefit* OR favorable
(3) Try pasting this string of keywords into the database search box along with your topic/issue: negative OR disadvantage* OR opponent* OR problem* OR difficult* OR against
And remember, research papers demand some original thought and reflection upon the ideas you encounter during the research process.