Guides: Astronomy & Astrophysics Research Guide: Articles

Databases

Astrophysics Data System (ADS) This link opens in a new window
Use this convenient and highly comprehensive database to find abstracts, full-text articles, reports, and other publication types--including all arXiv content--covering Astronomy, Physics and Astrophysics and related subject areas. Maintained and managed by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory & NASA.
DePaul users should create a free ADS account login with affiliation set to DePaul. This will allow access to full text content through DePaul's library resources when not provided directly through the ADS database.
arXiv This link opens in a new window
Find freely-accessible preprint/pre-publication articles covering physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. The same material and much more besides can be accessed through the ADS database. The arXiv database is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Find articles published across a pre-selected range of high prestige and high impact research journals. Includes the option of "cited reference searching" to identify which published works have cited a specific paper or author that has already been published.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Find full text science content across thousands of Elsevier published research journals, ebooks and ebook chapters.
MathSciNet (via American Mathematical Society) This link opens in a new window
Find astronomy or astrophysics articles in mathematics journals and other publication types.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, conference proceedings, IEEE Standards and other publication types relating to a wide range of astronomy and astrophysics topics.

NASA Technical Reports Server
Get access to records and full-text of NASA information sources, including journal articles, conference papers, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database is a useful source of non-scholarly and less technical journal or magazine articles relating to astronomy, astrophysics or space science.

Sloan Digital Sky Survey (SDSS)
Start from the SDSS home page to access surveys, data sources and data types accumulated since SDSS surveys began in the year 2000. From the home page, use the 'Science' menu to access Scientific, Data and Technical publications resulting from successive SDSS Collaborations.

Review Journals

Annual Review of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Authoritative up-to-date reviews on the state of Astronomy and Astrophysics.
Astronomy and Astrophysics Review
State-of-the-art review articles accessible to non-specialist scientists and students.
New Astronomy Reviews
Review articles for astronomers and astrophysicists.

Astrophysics Data System (ADS) This link opens in a new window
Find reviews on your topic by searching across all ADS content using the search syntax: reviews("your topic") then applying search limiters (e.g. years; publication types) appropriate for your needs and interests.

Selected Astronomy/Science Magazines & Journals

Astronomy
A general interest astronomy publication containing news reports and reviews of astronomy equipment.
Scientific American
Magazine of scientific discovery and technological innovation for the general public. Provides an understanding of how science and technology can influence human affairs and illuminate the natural world.
Sky and Telescope
Covers astronomy, space, observatories, planetariums, telescopes & celestial events for amateur astronomers.
Science
Peer-reviewed academic journal of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Published since 1880, Science covers all science disciplines, and is one of the most highly-regarded of academic science journals.
Nature
Peer-reviewed academic journal covering all fields of science and technology. Published since 1869, and one of the most highly-regarded of academic science journals.