Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Web resources
Dictionary of Islamic Architecture
Andrew Petersen's dictionary of Islamic architectural terms, originally published by Routledge in 1996, is available here with links to related buildings and publications on ArchNet.
Digital Library of the Middle East
The Digital Library of the Middle East (DLME) offers free and open access to the rich cultural legacy of the Middle East and North Africa by bringing together collections from a wide range of cultural heritage institutions. Includes material from 11000 BCE to the present, in multiple languages including Arabic, Hebrew, and English.
A comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent. The Encyclopædia is an international, collaborative project, based at Columbia University.
Global Press Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides open access to a large collection of digital news sources from around the world.
Islamic Heritage Project
Through the Islamic Heritage Project (IHP), Harvard University has cataloged, conserved, and digitized hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, maps, and published texts. These rare—and frequently unique—materials are now freely available to Internet users worldwide.
Islamic History Sourcebook
A wonderful collection of links and historical materials related to the Islamic world
OACIS for the Middle East
From Yale University Library. OACIS for the Middle East (Online Access to Consolidated Information on Serials) is a union list of serials from or about the Middle East. The mission of OACIS is to improve access to Middle Eastern serials in libraries in the United States, Europe, and the Middle East.
Pew Research Center: Religion and Public Life
Research and news as part of an information clearinghouse at the "intersection of religion and public affairs" from a nonpartisan "fact tank"
Sacred Texts of Islam
Includes texts of the holy Qu'ran, the Hadith, a selection of Sufi texts and a variety of other related literary and non-literary texts.
Search the Web
Did you know you can search within the page you're viewing? Press Control+F (or Command+F for Mac users) and simply type in
the word you want to locate.