Guides: Islamic World Studies Research Guide: Encyclopedias & Reference

Encyclopedias and Reference Tools

Index Islamicus
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by an editorial team working at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London. It covers publications from 1906 to the present and over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion, in addition to conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews.

Encyclopaedia of Islam
This 2nd ed. is the standard scholarly work in the field.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America
Explores the origins, development, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced in North America. Covers the significant denominations and movements that have originated or flourished in the United States, Canada, and Mexico, from the beginning of European settlement to the present.
Guide to Islamist Movements
This is the first comprehensive guide to today's most important, yet least understood transnational ideology -- political Islamism. It covers the movement's diverse groups, ideas, and activities around the globe -- from political participation to revolutionary terrorism -- and responding government policies and repression.
Credo Reference - Islam
A cross-searchable database of reference books on the topic of Islam.
Encyclopædia Iranica
A comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent. The Encyclopædia is an international, collaborative project, based at Columbia University.