Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Article Databases for Music Research
Use databases to search for journal and magazine articles, book chapters, and reviews:
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Best for scholarly journals and articles, book chapters, dissertations, and foreign-language materials; best coverage for musicology, ethnomusicology, and music theory.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Best for popular music, music education, jazz, and performance; also includes some foreign-language material.
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Best for popular music and performance.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of full-text scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, science, and business. There is typically a 2-5 year gap in coverage, so do not use for current events.
Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
Reviews, interviews, and articles from music publications focusing on Rock and Roll.
Best for inter-disciplinary studies in art, classics, history, language, music, philosophy, and religion.
Where's the Full Text?
If a PDF or Full Text option isn't available...
1. Click on Find Full Text @ DePaul
2. Choose View Online
3. If these options aren't available, choose Get It to request via Interlibrary Loan
*Use Interlibrary Loan to obtain an electronic copy of any article we do not have online.
Liner notes (the booklet included with a CD) can be excellent sources of information on composers, musicians, genres, musical styles, and more. See the Listening & Viewing tab for resources that include liner notes, including streaming audio and video database.