Encyclopedias and Reference Tools
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new windowGrove is a great place to get background information on an artist, period or style from prehistory to the modern era and is one of the most significant arts reference sources available. The print version is titled The Dictionary of Art. Part of Oxford Art Online. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowGateway to an impressive collection of art reference titles including Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.
Access note: Limited to 8 simultaneous users. - Benezit Dictionary of Artists This link opens in a new windowThe Benezit Dictionary of Artists contains almost 170,000 entries on artists from antiquity to the present day and it also has thousands of auction records, museum holdings, and bibliographies. Two notable strengths are its coverage of obscure artists and its inclusion of images of artists? signatures, monograms, and stamps.
Access note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users. - Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new windowCoverage of global design and crafts from 1500 BCE to the present day with cross-searchable access to encyclopedias, reference works, e-books, images, and more.
- Critical Terms for Art HistoryAn introductory guide to theoretical issues in art history published by University of Chicago Press.
- Thames & Hudson Dictionary of 20th Century ArchitectureBrief guide to architects and architectural periods of the 20th century.
- Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and DesignersConcise dictionary on the leading figures in graphic design since 1840 and on the artistic movements and technical advances of the period.
