Readings
Everyone Who Is Gone Is Here by ISBN: 9781984880819Publication Date: 2024-01-30An epic, heartbreaking, and deeply reported history of the disastrous humanitarian crisis at the southern border told through the lives of the migrants forced to risk everything and the policymakers who determine their fate, by New Yorker staff writer Jonathan Blitzer Everyone who makes the journey faces an impossible choice. Hundreds of thousands of people who arrive every year at the US-Mexico border travel far from their homes. For years, the majority came from El Salvador, Guatemala, and Honduras, but many more have begun their journey much farther away. Some flee persecution, others crime or hunger. They may have already been deported, but the United States remains their only hope for safety and prosperity.
Background Information
Routledge International Handbook of Migration Studies by Call Number: EBookISBN: 9781138208827Publication Date: 2019
The SAGE Handbook of International Migration by
The SAGE Handbook of International Migration provides an authoritative and informed analysis of key issues in international migration, including its crucial significance far beyond the more traditional questions of immigrant settlement and incorporation in particular countries. Bringing together chapters contributed by an international cast of leading voices in the field, the Handbook is arranged around four key thematic parts: Part 1: Disciplinary Perspectives on Migration Part 2: Historical and Contemporary Flows of Migrants Part 3: Theory, Policy and the Factors Affecting Incorporation Part 4: National and Global Policy Challenges in Migration The last three decades have seen the rapid increase and diversification in the types of international migration, and this Handbook has been created to meet the need among academics and researchers across the social sciences, policy makers and commentators for a definitive publication which provides a range of perspectives and insights into key themes and debates in the field.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781412961752Publication Date: 2020
Anti-Immigration in the United States: A historical encyclopedia by
Anti-Immigration in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia is one of the first encyclopedias to address American anti-immigration sentiment. Organized alphabetically, the two-volume work covers major historical periods and relevant concepts, as well as discussions of various anti-immigration stances. Leading figures and groups in the anti-immigration movements of the past and present are also explored.
ISBN: 9780313375217Publication Date: 2011
Contemporary Immigration in America by ISBN: 9780313399176Publication Date: 2015State and local immigration issues and policies for all 50 states are thoroughly examined in this unique, up-to-date, and accessibly written encyclopedia. Immigration continues to be a timely and often-controversial subject, particularly regarding legislation at the state level.
Books
Robots and Immigrants by
Who steals jobs? Who owns jobs? Focusing on the competitive labour market, this book scrutinises the narratives created around immigration and automation. The authors explore how the advances in AI and demands for constant flow of immigrant workers eradicate political and working rights, fuelling fears over job theft and ownership. Shedding light on the multiple ways in which employment is used as an instrument of neoliberal governance, this revealing book sparks new debate on the role of automation and migration policies. It is an invaluable resource for academics and practitioners working in the areas of immigration and labour, capitalism and social exclusion, and economic models and political governance.
ISBN: 1529212723Publication Date: 2024
Policy Implications of International Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Scholars in the United States by
Policy Implications of International Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Scholars in the United States explores the role and impact of students and scholars on U.S. educational institutions and the U.S. economy. The nation has drawn increasingly on human resources abroad for its science and engineering workforce. However, competition for talent has grown as other countries have expanded their research infrastructure and created more opportunities for international students. To maintain America's leadership in science and engineering research, a comprehensive effort is needed to improve the recruitment, education, and training of a cross section of U.S. students for careers in these fields, while at the same time continuing to attract the most talented scholars worldwide. This book discusses trends in international student enrollments, stay rates, and examines the impact of visa policies on international mobility of the highly skilled.
ISBN: 9780309096133Publication Date: 2005
Librarian
Background Sources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An online, cross-searchable collection of reference books on a variety of subjects from more than 50 publishers.
- CQ Researcher: ImmigrationAn in depth CQ Researcher report in response to the question: Can the border crisis be resolved?