Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and CultureProvides a multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts. 2nd edition (2008).
- Handbook of Latin American StudiesMultidisciplinary bibliography consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United StatesScholarly treatment of the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas, addressing topics such as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican CulturesChronicles Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America.
Dictionaries
Dictionary of Latin American Identities by Call Number: Lincoln Park Reference: REF 417.22098 M1798d 2021ISBN: 9781683402008Publication Date: 2021A dictionary of 21,000 terms related to race, ethnicity, gender, and sexuality used in the region over the past five centuries. It includes the languages of Spanish, Portuguese, French, and their Creoles, and encompasses an interdisciplinary range of sources that highlight the intersectional nature of identity.
Handbooks
Handbook of Social Movements Across Latin America by Call Number: Lincoln Park Stacks: 303.484 H23656A2015ISBN: 9789401799119Publication Date: 2015This handbook covers social movement activities in Latin American countries that have had profound consequences on the political culture of the region. It examines the developments of the past twenty years, such as a renewed upswing in popular mobilization, the ending of violent conflicts and military governments, new struggles and a relatively more democratic climate. It shows that, from southern Chiapas to Argentina, social movements in the 1990s and especially in the 2000s, have reached new heights of popular participation.
The Routledge Companion to Latina/o Popular Culture by Call Number: EBookISBN: 9781138638945Publication Date: 2016The Routledge Companion to Latina/o Pop Culture features consideration of differences between pop culture made by and about Latina/os; comprehensive and critical analyses of various pop cultural forms; concrete and detailed treatments of major primary works from children's television to representations of dia de los muertos; new perspectives on the political, social, and historical dynamic of Latina/o pop culture; Chapters select, summarize, explain, contextualize and assess key critical interpretations, perspectives, developments and debates in Latina/o popular cultural studies.
The Routledge Handbook to the Culture and Media of the Americas by Call Number: EBookISBN: 9781138479821Publication Date: 2020Exploring the culture and media of the Americas, this handbook places particular emphasis on collective and intertwined experiences and focuses on the transnational or hemispheric dimensions of cultural flows and geocultural imaginaries that shape the literature, arts, media and other cultural expressions in the Americas. The Routledge Handbook to the Culture and Media of the Americas charts the pervasive, asymmetrical flows of cultural products and capital and their importance in the development of the Americas.
