Find Articles
At DePaul University, African and Black Diaspora Studies is an interdisciplinary field of study that encourages students to explore the Black experience from a variety of perspectives including but not limited to historical, artistic, sociological, anthropological, and philosophical approaches. Due to the interdisciplinary nature of the field, articles can be found across a variety of databases.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for Academic Search Complete
Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Dates Covered: 1887-present.
Extent: Multidisciplinary - Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowDatabase focusing on the study of the historical development of black culture. Includes monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community.
Dates Covered: 1841-present. - Sociology Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIncludes Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), Sociological Abstracts, and the Sociology Database. It covers international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields and provides full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more. It forms part of the Social Science Premium Collection.
Dates covered: 1952-present. - Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for Art Full Text
Indexes articles from art journals and museum bulletins. Coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994; full-text coverage for selected periodicals begins in 1997. Dates Covered: 1984-Present. - Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for Religion & Philosophy Collection
A full-text database for theology and philosophy research that includes hundreds of full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics spanning over 100 years, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language. - Twentieth-Century African American Poetry This link opens in a new windowA database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.
Journals
- African Studies ReviewAfrican Studies Review (ASR) is the flagship scholarly journal of the African Studies Association (USA). The ASR publishes the highest quality African studies scholarship in all academic disciplines.
- The Black ScholarFounded on the premise that Black writers, scholars, activists and artists could participate in dialogue within its pages, The Black Scholar's primary mission has been to chronicle, analyze, and debate the conditions and the emancipatory efforts of Black people, across class, nationality, gender, generation, sexuality, and ideology.
- The Journal Modern African StudiesThe Journal of Modern African Studies offers a quarterly survey of developments in modern African politics and society. Its main emphasis is on current issues in African politics, economies, societies and international relations.
- Journal of Black StudiesThe Journal of Black Studies is a leading source for dynamic, innovative, and creative approaches to scholarship on the Black experience across the globe.
- The Journal of Pan African Studiesfricology: The Journal of Pan African Studies is a trans-disciplinary on-line peer reviewed scholarly journal devoted to the intellectual synthesis of research, scholarship and critical thought on the African experience around the world.
How to Find Articles
Need more help finding articles? See How to Find Articles for help on selecting keywords, choosing databases, and more.