Key Resources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Dates Covered: 1887-present. - African American Communities This link opens in a new window
Focusing on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
- Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Database focusing on the study of the historical development of black culture. Includes monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community.
Dates Covered: 1841-present. - Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Contains the Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History 1896-present; Black Women in America, 2nd ed.; the Africana, 2nd ed.; the African American National Biography Project; Encyclopedia of African American Art and Architecture; the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature; and selected articles from other reference works.
Access note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Black Metropolis Research Consortium
- Black Metropolis Research Consortium (BMRC)
he Black Metropolis Research Consortium (BMRC) is a Chicago-based membership association of libraries, universities, museums, community/arts organizations and other archival institutions (of which DePaul University Library is a member). The BMRC’s mission is to connect all who seek to document, share, understand and preserve Black experiences.
BMRC hosts workshops, a Summer Short-Term Fellowship, and the Archie Motley Archival Internship Program.
