Article Databases
Search these recommended databases to find quality sources for your research paper.
- ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window Includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry. This database covers business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Dates Covered: 1971-present
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.Dates Covered: 1887-present.
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of journals and trade publications in all business-related disciplines. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, company profiles, SWOT analyses, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, Harvard Business Review, and Harvard Faculty Seminar Videos. Dates Covered: 1886-present. *Upgraded from Business Source Complete in July 2024*
- Politics Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Includes PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Covers international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. It forms part of the Social Science Premium Collection. Dates covered: 1914-present.
- Sociology Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Includes Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), Sociological Abstracts, and the Sociology Database. It covers international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields and provides full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more. It forms part of the Social Science Premium Collection. Dates covered: 1952-present.
Recognizing Scholarly Articles
Scholarly Articles Checklist
- Sources always documented in a bibliography,references or works cited list, or footnotes at the bottom of each page
- Lengthy often 10+ pages
- Authors' affiliations listed - professors, scholars, or researchers
- Describes the results of original research (e.g. experiments, case studies or analyses)
- Graphs, charts, tables, equations (especially in STEM disciplines)
- Written for experts - use of jargon or technical language
- Long, descriptive title
Selected Journals
- Japan and the World EconomyAvailable 1995-present
- Japanese Journal of Political ScienceAvailable 2001-present (12 month embargo)
- Journal of Japanese StudiesAvailable 2004-present
- Monumenta NipponicaAvailable from 2005-present