Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
This database is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. Formerly known as: PILOTS.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. It provides abstracts and citations to peer-reviewed literature, including journal articles, books, book chapters and theses.
Dates Covered: 1887-present.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to many of the journals indexed in PsycInfo, including the ability to search within full-text of the articles.
Dates Covered: 1894-present.
The Cambridge Handbook of the Psychology of Prejudice by
Publication Date: 2016-11-17
The Cambridge Handbook of the Psychology of Prejudice aims to answer the questions: why is prejudice so persistent? How does it affect people exposed to it? And what can we do about it? Providing a comprehensive examination of prejudice from its evolutionary beginnings and environmental influences through to its manifestations and consequences, this Handbook is an essential resource for scholars and students who are passionate about understanding prejudice, social change, collective action, and prejudice reduction. Featuring cutting-edge research from top scholars in the field, the chapters provide an overview of psychological models of prejudice; investigate prejudice in specific domains such as race, religion, gender, and appearance; and develop explicit, evidence-based strategies for disrupting the processes that produce and maintain prejudice. This Handbook challenges researchers and readers to move beyond their comfort zone, and sets the agenda for future avenues of research, policy, and intervention.
African American Patients in Psychotherapy: Understanding the Psychological Effects of Racism and Oppression by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2018-02-19
African American Patients in Psychotherapy integrates history, current events, arts, psychoanalytic thinking, and case studies to provide a model for understanding the social and historical dimensions of psychological development. Among the topics included are psychological consequences of slavery and Jim Crow, the black patient and the white therapist, the toll of even "small" racist enactments, the black patient's uneasy relationship with health care providers, and a revisiting of the idea of "black rage." Author Ruth Fallenbaum also examines the psychological potential of reparation for centuries of slave labor and legalized wage and property theft.
Relevant Psychology Topics
Unmasking 'racial micro aggressions'
"Some racism is so subtle that neither victim nor perpetrator may entirely understand what is going on—which may be especially toxic for people of color." ~Tori DeAngelis