University Library DePaul Library

How to Import Items

We have created several ways for faculty to be able to import items from some of our core databases and resources into Ares.  

This will copy over the citation information from the database and allows the instructor to associate these items with a course.  Reserve staff can then either pull the item from the shelves or supply a url to the item after it has been requested.  

You will see options to Add to Ares from WorldCat Local, and from our Find Fulltext @ DePaul which is included on many of our databases, allowing you to import citations from most of the library's databases.  

Import Citations From Other Databases

Many of our library databases include the Find Fulltext @ DePaul link that checks against our other databases to see if we have fulltext coverage available for an article or other source.  We have included a link from this page that will import the citation into Ares for you.  Just look for the Faculty:  Add to Ares link near the bottom of the page. 

In order to import a citation, follow these steps: 

  1. Locate the article or other item you would like to add as a course reserve
  2. Click on the Find Fulltext @ DePaul link
  3. A new page will open that will include a citation and links to other fulltext sources for this article.  Look for the Faculty:  Add to Ares link near the bottom of the page and click.  You will need to login to Ares, but after logging in the request form will be automatically populated with information for the article.  

Example of Find Fulltext Link from EBCO databases

Example of Find Full Text @ Depaul Link from Proquest databases

Proquest Ares

Example of Find FullText @ DePaul Page