Article Databases
The databases listed below are just an example of the many resources the library has available for you to search for scholarly articles related to your research problem. Locate additional databases for your research through the list of subject specific research guides found through the link directly below.
Articles
Psychology
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. It provides abstracts and citations to peer-reviewed literature, including journal articles, books, book chapters and theses.
Dates Covered: 1887-present.
- How to search PsycINFOBrief video tutorial on the basics of searching PsycINFO
- Advanced functions for searching PsycINFOHelpful video in combination with the basic tutorial linked above.
Business
- ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry. This database covers business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information.
Dates Covered: 1971-present - Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of journals and trade publications in all business-related disciplines. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, company profiles, SWOT analyses, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, Harvard Business Review, and Harvard Faculty Seminar Videos.
Dates Covered: 1886-present.
*Upgraded from Business Source Complete in July 2024*
Education
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic and full text access to scholarly research and information relating to many areas of education.
- ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
The world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences and is the largest education database in the world. It includes over 1 million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books. It is also available as part of of ProQuest Education Collection.
Dates covered: 1966-present.
History
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books and dissertations on North American history, covering the United States and Canada. (For other countries or regions, use the database Historical Abstracts.) "Dates covered" refers to publication dates included; all historic eras are addressed, from B.C. to present day.
Dates Covered: 1964-present - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books and dissertations on all time periods of world history, excluding the United States and Canada; for those countries use the database America: History & Life. "Dates covered" refers to publication dates included; all historic eras are addressed, from B.C. to present day.
Dates Covered: 1954-present.
Law
- Hein Online This link opens in a new windowIndexes law reviews and other legal journals; with full-image articles.
Philosophy
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals and books in philosophy; with abstracts.
Dates Covered: 1940-present.
Political Science
- Politics Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIncludes PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Covers international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. It forms part of the Social Science Premium Collection.
Dates covered: 1914-present.
Public Health
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowIndexes biomedical journals from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. Also links to molecular biology databases of DNA/protein sequences and 3-D structure data.
Dates Covered: 1966-present.
Access note: Freely available to the public.
Sociology
- Sociology Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIncludes Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), Sociological Abstracts, and the Sociology Database. It covers international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields and provides full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more. It forms part of the Social Science Premium Collection.
Dates covered: 1952-present.
Citations and Scholarly Sources
- Literature Reviews: An Overview for Graduate StudentsThis video created by librarians at North Carolina State University provides a detailed understanding of what a literature review is and the steps involved in the process. Viewing this video will demystify this academic endeavor.
- Scholarly Sources: A How-To GuideThis guide provides a constructive visual tour through the sections of a scholarly article.