Guides: HLTH 310 (Lippert): Fundamentals of Epidemiology: Key Resources

Background Information

Do some preliminary research using background sources to familiarize yourself with the terminology and basic information about your topic. The more you know going in, the easier it will be to make sense of your data later.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Summaries of the latest evidence-based information intended to support nurses, doctors, and other care providers. Tip: Try searching for "health issue + epidemiology" for a useful overview.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An online, cross-searchable collection of reference books on a variety of subjects from more than 50 publishers.

Selected Titles

Scholarly Literature

Use these databases to find scholarly articles on disease prevalence, known risk factors, and other epidemiological research.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Indexes biomedical journals from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. Also links to molecular biology databases of DNA/protein sequences and 3-D structure data. Dates Covered: 1966-present. Access note: Freely available to the public
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full text access to nursing journals, practice acts, and conference proceedings.
Dates Covered: 1980-present.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, medicine, and arts and humanities.