Research Tips
Encyclopedias and reference books are a great start to reviewing a topic before engaging in deeper research. These texts will provide a quick overview of terms, movements, places and people in a specific topical area.
Encyclopedias and Reference Books
Animation: a World History Vol. 1 by
A continuation of 1994's groundbreaking Cartoons, Giannalberto Bendazzi's Animation: A World History is the largest, deepest, most comprehensive text of its kind, based on the idea that animation is an art form that deserves its own place in scholarship. Bendazzi delves beyond just Disney, offering readers glimpses into the animation of Russia, Africa, Latin America, and other often-neglected areas and introducing over fifty previously undiscovered artists. Full of first-hand, never before investigated, and elsewhere unavailable information, Animation: A World History encompasses the history of animation production on every continent over the span of three centuries. Volume I traces the roots and predecessors of modern animation, the history behind Émile Cohl's Fantasmagorie, and twenty years of silent animated films. Encompassing the formative years of the art form through its Golden Age, this book accounts for animation history through 1950 and covers everything from well-known classics like Steamboat Willie to animation in Egypt and Nazi Germany. With a wealth of new research, hundreds of photographs and film stills, and an easy-to-navigate organization, this book is essential reading for all serious students of animation history. Key Features Over 200 high quality head shots and film stills to add visual reference to your research Detailed information on hundreds of never-before researched animators and films Coverage of animation from more than 90 countries and every major region of the world Chronological and geographical organization for quick access to the information you're looking for
ISBN: 9781317520832Publication Date: 2015-10-23
Animation: a World History Vol.2 by
A continuation of 1994's groundbreaking Cartoons, Giannalberto Bendazzi's Animation: A World History is the largest, deepest, most comprehensive text of its kind, based on the idea that animation is an art form that deserves its own place in scholarship. Bendazzi delves beyond just Disney, offering readers glimpses into the animation of Russia, Africa, Latin America, and other often-neglected areas and introducing over fifty previously undiscovered artists. Full of first-hand, never before investigated, and elsewhere unavailable information, Animation: A World History encompasses the history of animation production on every continent over the span of three centuries. Volume II delves into the decades following the Golden Age, an uncertain time when television series were overshadowing feature films, art was heavily influenced by the Cold War, and new technologies began to emerge that threatened the traditional methods of animation. Take part in the turmoil of the 1950s through 90s as American animation began to lose its momentum and the advent of television created a global interest in the art form. With a wealth of new research, hundreds of photographs and film stills, and an easy-to-navigate organization, this book is essential reading for all serious students of animation history. Key Features Over 200 high quality head shots and film stills to add visual reference to your research Detailed information on hundreds of never-before researched animators and films Coverage of animation from more than 90 countries and every major region of the world Chronological and geographical organization for quick access to the information you're looking for
ISBN: 9781317519904Publication Date: 2015-10-23
Animation: a World History Vol. 3 by
A continuation of 1994's groundbreaking Cartoons, Giannalberto Bendazzi's Animation: A World History is the largest, deepest, most comprehensive text of its kind, based on the idea that animation is an art form that deserves its own place in scholarship. Bendazzi delves beyond just Disney, offering readers glimpses into the animation of Russia, Africa, Latin America, and other often-neglected areas and introducing over fifty previously undiscovered artists. Full of first-hand, never before investigated, and elsewhere unavailable information, Animation: A World History encompasses the history of animation production on every continent over the span of three centuries. Volume III catches you up to speed on the state of animation from 1991 to present. Although characterized by such trends as economic globalization, the expansion of television series, emerging markets in countries like China and India, and the consolidation of elitist auteur animation, the story of contemporary animation is still open to interpretation. With an abundance of first-hand research and topics ranging from Nickelodeon and Pixar to modern Estonian animation, this book is the most complete record of modern animation on the market and is essential reading for all serious students of animation history. Key Features Over 200 high quality head shots and film stills to add visual reference to your research Detailed information on hundreds of never-before researched animators and films Coverage of animation from more than 90 countries and every major region of the world Chronological and geographical organization for quick access to the information you're looking for
ISBN: 9781317519874Publication Date: 2015-11-06
The Anime Encyclopedia, 3rd Revised Edition by
"Impressive, exhaustive, labyrinthine, and obsessive--The Anime Encyclopedia is an astonishing piece of work."--Neil Gaiman Over one thousand new entries . . . over four thousand updates . . . over one million words. . . This third edition of the landmark reference work has six additional years of information on Japanese animation, its practitioners and products, plus incisive thematic entries on anime history and culture. With credits, links, cross-references, and content advisories for parents and libraries. Jonathan Clements has been an editor of Manga Max and a contributing editor of Newtype USA. Helen McCarthy was founding editor of Anime UK and editor of Manga Mania.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2015
The A to Z of Animation and Cartoons by
Animation was once a relatively simple matter, using fairly primitive means to produce rather short films of subjects that were generally comedic and often quite childish. However, things have changed, and they continue changing at a maddening pace. One new technique after another has made it easier, faster, and above all cheaper to produce the material, which has taken on an increasing variety of forms."The A to Z of Animation and Cartoons" is an introduction to all aspects of animation history and its development as a technology and industry beyond the familiar cartoons from the Disney and Warner Bros. Studios. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, photos, a bibliography, and over 200 cross-referenced dictionary entries on animators, directors, studios, techniques, films, and some of the best-known characters.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2010
Cartoons : one hundred years of cinema animation by
Contents:
Section 1. The first four decades (1888-1929). Origins -- Animation in the United States of America -- The European individualists -- Argentina : the world's first animated feature film -- The United States of America : breaking the sound barrier -- Walt Disney : the world's most successful animation studio -- Section 2. Animation in the 1930s. Europe -- The United States of America : animation heads west -- Talent in other pre-war nations -- The masters of animation -- Section 3. The next three decades (1940-1970). The United States of America -- The Canadian phenomenon -- Western Europe -- Eastern Europe -- Animation in Asia -- Animation in Latin America -- Colour plates.
Cont.): Section 4. A new wave of animation (1970s and 1980s). The United States of America -- Canada -- Western Europe : the new generation -- Eastern Europe -- Latin America -- Africa -- New realities in Asia -- Australasia -- The Globe Trotters of animation -- Section 5. The electronic age -- Computers and animation -- Section 6. Reference.
Call Number: 791.433 B458cE1994Publication Date: 1995
Keywords
Common keywords to use when researching animation:
- Animation
- Animators
- Computer animation
- Animated films
- Animated television programs
- Cartoons
- Television cartoon shows
- Motion picture cartoons
- Clay animation films
- Stop-motion animation films
- Japanese animation