Key Themes
Julia Fish: Bound by Spectrum is one of three exhibitions on view at DPAM that include themes of interdisciplinary and personal responses to architecture, geography, and notions of home, presented on the occasion of the Chicago Architectural Biennial. Fish's work comes from slow observation of domestic space and architectural detail and has emerged over decades of examining her home and studio. The paintings depict blueprints, lighting fixtures, stairs, floor panels, tiles and thresholds rendered through the language of abstraction. Colors used relate to a system devised by the artist to denote locations within the building and indicate the cardinal direction of the spaces she references.
Language of Abstraction / Formal Elements of Painting / Observation of Light
Fish's work explores the nuances of color, shape, and line - a concern shared with geometric modernists such as Piet Mondrian, Josef Albers, Agnes Martin, Ellsworth Kelly, Alfred Jensen, Sol Lewitt, Jo Baer, Alighiero Boetti, and Mary Heilman. Fish is also focused on the observation of atmospheric light and how the movement of light shifts one's perception. Studying the effects of light continues a tradition of intensive study by painters such as J.M.W. Turner and Claude Monet (view Turner's work and Monet's Haystack studies at the Art Institute of Chicago).
Design and Form: The Basic Course at the Bauhaus and LaterCall Number: 709.430946 I91gE1975ISBN: 9780471289302
Goethe's Color TheoryCall Number: 535.6 G599GE
Contemplating Domestic Space
Housing and Dwelling: Perspectives on Modern Domestic ArchitectureCall Number: 728 H82426ISBN: 9780203799673
Threshold Spaces: Transitions in Architecture Analysis and Design ToolsCall Number: e-bookISBN: 9783038214007
Slow Observation
Search the library catalog WorldCat Discovery to explore resources related to the exhibition.
Article Databases
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for Art Full Text
Indexes articles from art journals and museum bulletins. Coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994; full-text coverage for selected periodicals begins in 1997. Dates Covered: 1984-Present. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections on JSTOR which includes the full text of more than 2,600 journals in business, social sciences, science, and the humanities. Includes access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections including JSTOR Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Public Health Journals, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability. - Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Guide to current literature of architecture and design. Covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations.
Dates Covered: 1934-present. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for Academic Search Complete
Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Dates Covered: 1887-present.
Extent: Multidisciplinary - Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowUse the OED as a starting point to explore the literal and metaphorical meanings related to painting titles such as threshold, spectrum, transposed, trace, and equinox.
Search DePaul WorldCat Discovery
Search DePaul WorldCat Discovery