Overviews of Key Themes
This exhibition addresses broad themes associated with New Age culture including metaphysical practices, a return to craft and handmade objects, connecting with the natural environment, and imagined communes with a special focus on how women, LGBTQ artists, and people of color use these alternative practices as tools of resistance, empowerment, community, healing, and self-care.
New Age Movements
- Partridge, Christopher. "New Age Movements." Encyclopedia of Global Religion. Eds. Mark Juergensmeyer and Wade C. Roof. Vol. 1. Thousand Oaks: SAGE Publications, Inc., 2012. 885-889. SAGE Knowledge. Web. 22 Apr. 2019, doi: 10.4135/9781412997898.n510.This encyclopedia article provides an overview and chronology of new age movements and will inform the rest of your research.
Afrofuturism in Art
Utopia (including ecological and feminist utopias)
Craft in Contemporary Art
Article Databases
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles from art journals and museum bulletins. Coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994; full-text coverage for selected periodicals begins in 1997. Dates Covered: 1984-Present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections on JSTOR which includes the full text of more than 2,600 journals in business, social sciences, science, and the humanities. Includes access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections including JSTOR Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Public Health Journals, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability. - Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowIndexes publications on gender and sexuality issues in many academic fields.
Dates Covered: 1970-present. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Dates Covered: 1887-present.
Extent: Multidisciplinary - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowIndexes US ethnic and minority publications; with full text.
Dates Covered: 1960-present.
Search DePaul WorldCat Discovery
Search DePaul WorldCat Discovery