Guides: Migration, Mobility and Human Rights: Databases

Introduction

There are many interdisciplinary databases that contain information about Migration, Mobility, and Human Rights generally that can be used to supplement the law located in Lexis and Westlaw.

Database List

Debates on U.S. Immigration
Covers 13 of the key debates on immigration: amnesty, Arizona's S.B. 1070, birthright citizenship, immigration and crime, the provision of driver's licenses to undocumented immigrants, federal policy, voting, the selection system, nativism, the naturalization process, border control, gender and refugee status, and detention and deportation.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights
Covers aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history. Includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.

Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees (1940-1996)
This digital archive includes firsthand accounts from reputable sources around the world, covering such important events as post-World War II Jewish resettlement, South African apartheid, Latin American migrations to the United States and much more.

New Americans: A Guide to Immigration Since 1965
Essays address such topics as immigration law and policy, refugees, unauthorized migrants, racial and ethnic identity, assimilation, nationalization, economy, politics, religion, education, and family relations.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
Collection of primary source documents focusing on immigrants to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.
Dates Covered: 1800-1950.

U.S. Immigration and Migration Reference Library
Chronicles and interpretations of the phenomenal waves of immigration to the United States from the earliest times through the period from 1820 to 1930, when the United States was the destination of some 60% of the world's immigrants -- up to the present day.