Guides: DePaul Art Museum Research Guide: BEVERLY FRESH: Really Somethin Else: Explore Key Themes

Background Info

Key themes of the exhibition include rural Midwest, cultural ritual, humor, music (folk, hip-hop), tent revival, and archetypes (picaresque, trickster, drifter). Ostrowski's mode of communication pulls from traditions of performance, video, and installation art.

Archetypes (picaresque, trickster, drifter)

Rowan, John. "Archetypes." International Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities, edited by Michael Flood, et al., Routledge, 1st edition, 2007. Credo Reference.
"Picaresque." Bloomsbury Guide to Human Thought, edited by Kenneth McLeish, Bloomsbury, 1st edition, 1993. Credo Reference.
Donovan, Ellen. "Trickster." The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English, edited by Victor Watson, Cambridge University Press, 1st edition, 2001. Credo Reference.
Garry, Jane, and Hasan M El-Shamy. "The Trickster: Various Motifs." Archetypes and Motifs in Folklore and Literature: A Handbook, Routledge, 2017. ProQuest Ebook Central. p. 472.
Adler, Gerhard, and Carl Gustav Jung. "On the Psychology of the Trickster-Figure." Archetypes and the Collective Unconscious: Archetypes and the Collective Unconscious, edited by R. F. C. Hull, Princeton University Press, 1969.
"The Drifter." TV Tropes.com

Concrete Comedy: An Alternative History of Twentieth-Century Comedy
Call Number: 709.04 R632C2011
ISBN: 9788791409585
The Presentation of Self in Everyday Life
Call Number: 301.15 G612P
ISBN: 9780385094023
Trickster Makes this World: Mischief, Myth, and Art
Call Number: 398.2 H994T
ISBN: 9780865475366
How to Talk Dirty and Influence People
Call Number: Order via I-Share
ISBN: 9780671751081
The Trickster Figure in American Literature
Call Number: 810.9355 M8499t2013
ISBN: 9781137344717
Picaresque Narrative, Picaresque Fictions: A Theory and Research Guide
Call Number: 809.3 W637P
ISBN: 9780313249341

Article Databases

Music, performance, video and installation art

Performing Arts Periodicals Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search this database for aspects of performance art practices or other issues related to performance.
Music Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find articles on rap or hip hop.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search Art Full Text for information on performance, kitsch, etc.

Midwest, cultural ritual, humor, music (folk, hip-hop), tent revival, archetypes (picaresque, trickster, drifter)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides articles on many different subjects and is a good starting point.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Sociology is the study of society and includes the examination of the social lives of people, groups, and communities.

Books

Search the library database, WorldCat Local for books relating to the exhibition themes.