Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias and Reference Tools
ISN: International Relations & Security Network
Contains full-text materials on international relations, area studies, security and military studies, and human rights, updated daily. Includes primary source materials for many historical periods.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China: Modern and Historic Views of the World's Newest and Oldest Global Power This link opens in a new window
Covers the arts, belief systems, business, communications, demographics, education, law and politics, minority groups, natural resources, regional and international relations, social welfare, and technology in China.
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War This link opens in a new window
In-depth, academic entries, including primary resources and a chronology of Vietnam's history from 2879 BCE to July 1976. 2nd edition (2011).
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive work covering the central and essential topics in international law.
Oxford Handbook of the International Relations of Asia This link opens in a new window
Examines the foreign relations and policies of specific countries or sets of countries in Asia; their political, economic, and security relations both within the Asian region as well as with the rest of the world; and the key thematic issues that draw states and peoples into particular institutions and networks.
Routledge Handbook of Religion and Politics This link opens in a new window
Provides a global survey of the interaction of religion and politics.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable collection of more than 100 encyclopedias and handbooks from SAGE.
WorldMark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life This link opens in a new window
Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.
Start your research with these featured resources.
Political Handbook of the World This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system.
Political, economic, social and cultural information on more than 100 countries, maintained by the Library of Congress. Formerly known as Area Handbooks.