Annotated Bibliographies
- Annotated BibliographiesCheck out Purdue University's helpful handout with information about annotated bibliographies, which is a list of sources that includes your summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources.
- Sample Annotated BibliographyPurdue's Online Writing Lab annotated bibliography samples.
Cite Your Sources
It's important to cite the sources you've gathered in your research and will use in your project. Citing:
- Demonstrates that you have done proper research.
- Gives credit to other authors and researchers and acknowledges their ideas.
- Allows readers to track down the sources you used.
- Can help you avoid plagiarism.
From the databases
Most library databases have a function to create citations in the most commons styles. Look for 
or 
in the article record or for a "suggested citation" at the bottom of the page. Double check the citations, though, as databases occasionally make mistakes.
Citation Guides
- Chicago Manual of Style This link opens in a new windowProvides guidelines and examples for using the Chicago style for citing books, articles, videos, web pages, library database articles, and other online & print resources.
- APA Style Guide (American Psychological Association)Basic online version of the American Psychological Association's style guide, covering aspects of citing and other aspects of scholarly writing most pertinent to psychology, nursing, and many other health-related fields.
- MLA Style Center: Works CitedProvides explanations and examples from the MLA Handbook, 8th Ed. Compiled by MLA.
- OWL: Purdue Research and Citation ResourcesProvides examples and explanations for APA, MLA, and Chicago citation styles.
Get Help Writing & Citing
The DePaul Writing Center works with writers on many kinds of projects; from research papers and lab reports to Master's theses and personal projects.