Article Databases for Music Research
Use databases to search for journal and magazine articles, book chapters, and music reviews. Search all three music databases (RILM, Music Index, and Music Periodicals Database) for the most complete coverage of your topic:
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowBest for scholarly journals and articles, book chapters, dissertations, and foreign-language materials; best coverage for musicology, ethnomusicology, and music theory.
- Music Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowBest for popular music, music education, jazz, and performance; also includes some foreign-language material.
- Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowBest for popular music and performance.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An archive of full-text scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, science, and business. There is typically a 2-5 year gap in coverage, so do not use for current events.
Where's the Full Text?
If a PDF or Full Text option isn't available...
1. Click on Find Full Text @ DePaul
2. Choose View Online
3. If these options aren't available, choose Get It to request via Interlibrary Loan
*Use Interlibrary Loan to obtain an electronic copy of any article we do not have online.
Newspaper Articles
Newspapers (both historic and comtemporary) are great sources for music reviews, composer interviews, and more:
- Times Digital Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowEvery issue of The Times (London) from 1785 to 1985.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowCovers local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers, as well as key international sources.
Liner Notes
Liner notes (the booklet included with a CD) can be excellent sources of information on composers, musicians, genres, musical styles, and more. See the Listening & Viewing tab for resources that include liner notes, including streaming audio and video database.