Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing, Health & Medicine Databases
This list may include most but not all the research databases that are pertinent to your area of study. To find materials covering interdisciplinary and non-health aspects of your topic or research question, consider using databases listed in other subject research guides.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative medicine, consumer health and other allied health disciplines. Provides full text access to journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, research instruments and clinical trials.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and other publication types across a broad range of psych-related disciplines.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Find articles and other document types covering an extremely broad range of biomedical/clinical research.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Find more articles relating to nursing and allied health professions (this database contains useful content you won't find in CINAHL).
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Get information & journal article references relating to measurement/assessment instruments (e.g. questionnaires; rating scales; tests; indexes; coding schemes) used in the research of health, psychosocial & behavioral sciences.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to cited reference searching within a large number of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus is the main database for finding Physical Activity & Exercise related literature. It contains more than 670 full-text journals, Books, Book chapters, Conference proceedings, Journal articles and more.
Sociology Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), Sociological Abstracts, and the Sociology Database. It covers international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields and provides full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more. It forms part of the Social Science Premium Collection.
Dates covered: 1952-present.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Indexes publications on gender and sexuality issues in many academic fields.
Dates Covered: 1970-present.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Use ERIC to find journal articles, reports and other documents relating to a wide range of education & training topics that relate to nursing, health care, medicine, and caring professions in general.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text articles for well over 1,000 journals in science, health and the social sciences.
Dates Covered: 1996-present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Dates Covered: 1887-present.
Clinical & Evidence-Based Databases
Find up-to-date information for locating federally and privately supported clinical trials for a wide range of diseases and conditions
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Find high quality, independent evidence-based health care information (protocols, methods, trials, evaluations and assessments) from six different Cochrane Library databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), a comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed systematic reviews produced by the Review Group of The Cochrane Collaboration.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Find physician-authored evidence-based information intended to support clinical decision-making at the point-of-care. UpToDate’s decision-support information is integrated with evidence-based drug and drug interaction information from Lexicomp. Use the library link above to register and set up your DePaul UpToDate account. Once your account is created, you will be able to use the mobile app.
Help Finding Nursing Articles