Magazine Advertisements
-
Duke University Libraries Digital CollectionsBroad selection of images from 19th and early 20th century magazines, as well as outdoor advertising (aka billboards) from the 1880s to the 1990s.
-
J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America This link opens in a new window
An archive of the history, operation, and policies of the J. Walter Thompson advertising firm. Includes: print advertisements, publications, business records, and other internal company documents pertaining to a wide range of brands, companies, and industries.
-
Internet Archive: Magazine RackA collection of digitized issues of magazines and monthly publications, available as full color scans.
-
Google MagazinesBrowse digitized full color scans of select issues of a variety of magazine titles, both historical and currently running.
-
Bloomsbury Food Library This link opens in a new window
Offers cross-searchable access to encyclopedias, reference works, e-books, images and more in food-related studies. Covers topics in food history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies.
Trade Catalogs (Historical)
-
Trade Catalogues and the American Home This link opens in a new window
Illustrated primary source documents portraying commercial tastes, consumer trends, domestic consumerism, and life and leisure in America, 1850-1950.
Television Commercials
-
AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television CommercialsThousands of television commercials created or collected by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency, dated 1950s - 1980s.
