Guides: Public Relations & Advertising Research Guide: Market Research

We subscribe to the following:

Mintel
As a globally recognized market analyst, Mintel produces hundreds of reports on several consumer markets every year. This resource covers over 50 years of market research capturing consumer behavior, product launches and purchase intent.
MarketResearch.com

Access research reports that address consumer behavior and industry/market trends in retailing, food and beverages, personal care, manufacturing, services, hospitality, healthcare and technology. Geographic coverage is predominantly the United States but there is also significant global and individual foreign country analysis best discovered by selecting the advanced search option.
Passport

Market research database providing statistics and analysis on companies, industries, economies, and consumers worldwide.
Access note: Some users might encounter a single sign-on (SSO) prompt in error and subsequent link to “Contact your institution." We recommend first trying a different browser or clearing cookies to see if doing so resolves the issue.
Access note: Not available to walk-in users.
MRI-Simmons Insights

Research Essentials is a module within the Insights platform designed specifically for consumer research, insights, ad research and media research teams and providing access to annual national consumer survey data. Access note: Limited to 10 concurrent users. Not available to walk-in users.
SMA: Sports Market Analytics

Provides searchable news and market research from the National Sporting Goods Association and other industry sources on all aspects of sporting goods, sports equipment, participation, demographics, fan profiles, sports finance, sponsorship, broadcasting, media, and marketing.

Pew Research Center: Internet, Science and Technology
Results of studies on the impact of the internet on children, families, communities, the work place, schools, health care and civic/political life. A non-partisan, non-profit group, they provide full-text reports and access to datasets.

Historical Market Research Resources

Market Research & American Business, 1935-1965

Contains the market research reports of Ernest Dichter, a consumer analyst and market research pioneer. The reports and ads cover a wide range of consumer industries, including clothing and accessories, food and drink, and sport and leisure.
J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America

An archive of the history, operation, and policies of the J. Walter Thompson advertising firm. Includes: print advertisements, publications, business records, and other internal company documents pertaining to a wide range of brands, companies, and industries.

Coverage dates run from the late 19th century to the 1990s.

Market Share Reporter
Presents comparative business statistics. Each entry features a descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/products along with their market share; and cites original sources.

Does DePaul offer access to reports from Nielsen, Forrester, etc.?

Prepared market research reports can be very expensive. Although we don't subscribe to the particular services mentioned, consider the sources listed to the left.

Market research is also often summarized in the business press; you can use the sources listed under the "Articles" tab to find these kinds of overviews when reports are not available.