Article Databases for Jazz Research
Use databases to search for journal and magazine articles, book chapters, and reviews:
- Music Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowBest for popular music, music education, jazz, and performance; also includes some foreign-language material.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowBest for scholarly journals and articles, book chapters, dissertations, and foreign-language materials; best coverage for musicology, ethnomusicology, and music theory.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of full-text scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, science, and business. There is typically a 2-5 year gap in coverage, so do not use for current events.
- Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A music journal resource with more than 1.3 million articles, detailed abstracts and full text. Best for popular music and performance.
Dates Covered: 1874-present. - Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new windowReviews, interviews, and articles from music publications focusing on Rock and Roll.
Featured Journal
Newspaper Articles
Newspapers are a good source for music reviews, interviews, information about venues, and more:
- Chicago Defender - Historical Edition This link opens in a new windowAn historically important African American newspaper; dates covered: 1910-1975.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowCovers U.S. ethnic, minority, and native press content from 1960-present.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Contains local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources including newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, newswires, and news videos.
Liner Notes
Liner notes (the booklet included with a CD) can be excellent sources of information on composers, musicians, genres, musical styles, and more. See the Listening & Viewing tab for resources that include liner notes, including streaming audio and video database.