Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of full text e-books from across all disciplines.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A large collection of e-books, including content previously accessed through Netlibrary.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Formerly Safari Books Online, O’Reilly for Higher Education is a new platform that includes access to 35,000+ technical books, videos, interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths, and audio books. It also includes access to over 30,000 hours of video, including presentations from O’Reilly's global conferences.
The Bankers' Blacklist : Unofficial Market Enforcement and the Global Fight Against Illicit Financing by
Publication Date: 2022-01-15
In The Banker's Blacklist, Julia C. Morse demonstrates how the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) has enlisted global banks in the effort to keep "bad money" out of the financial system, in the process drastically altering the domestic policy landscape and transforming banking worldwide. Trillions of dollars flow across borders through the banking system every day. While bank-to-bank transfers facilitate trade and investment, they also provide opportunities for criminals and terrorists to move money around the globe.
The Municipal Financial Crisis : Framework for Understanding and Fixing Government Budgeting by
Publication Date: 2022-01-07
City governments are going bankrupt. Even the ones that aren't are often stuck in financial chaos. It is easy to blame pensions, poor leadership, or a bad economy. But the problems go much deeper. With decades of experience in local government, author Mark Moses showcases the inside world of the city decision-making process that has spawned these crises. It becomes clear: City governments are maxing out their budgets because they are trying to maximize services.
Sustainable Finance : Using the Power of Money to Change the World by
Publication Date: 2021-12-18
This book provides a detailed yet succinct overview of sustainable finance, with a specific focus on its origins, its policy focus and the practitioner dimension. With fossil fuel companies still attracting investment and subsidy across the world, the book describes how we can reverse these incentives, using the power of finance to tackle the climate and ecological crises.
The Digital Disruption of Financial Services : International Perspectives by
Publication Date: 2021-11-29
This book contributes to the present state of knowledge, offering the reader broad evidence on how new digital technologies impact financial systems. It focuses on both macro- and micro-perspectives of ICT influence on financial markets. The book demonstrates how ICT can impact trading systems or information systems, which are crucial for financial systems to work effectively. It also shows how individuals can benefit from the adoption of digital technologies for everyday financial (e.g., banking) systems usage.
Cryptocurrency Compliance and Operations : Digital Assets, Blockchain and DeFi by
Publication Date: 2021-11-27
Cryptocurrencies and digital assets are increasingly garnering interest from institutional investors. This is on top of the already strong support in place for cryptocurrencies such as Bitcoin from the retail investor. With this rapid growth has come a series of complex operational and regulatory compliance challenges. These challenges have become further exacerbated by the increasing pace of technological advances in areas such as decentralized finance (DeFi) tokenization, blockchain and distributed ledger technology (DLT) essential to the crypto and digital asset markets.
The Everyday Practice of Valuation and Investment : Political Imaginaries of Shareholder Value by
Publication Date: 2021-11-23
The financial industry derives its legitimacy through the claim that it acts in the interest of shareholders. A vast international network of funds, banks, insurance companies, brokerages, rating agencies, and regulatory agencies defends its status by asserting that market mechanisms determine a company's true value and therefore enriching shareholders contributes to the socially optimal allocation of capital. Is this how stock prices are determined in practice? What does stock valuation reveal about the supposed efficiency of markets and what it means to act on behalf of shareholders?
Financialization of the Economy, Business, and Household Inequality in the United States : A Historical-Institutional Balance-Sheet Approach by
Publication Date: 2021-11-17
This second volume on the political and social economy of financialization in the US focuses on the consequences of the rise of finance for the American macroeconomy, household inequality, and the management of nonfinancial business enterprises. A historical-institutional balance-sheet approach to long-term trends and recent change in the US reveals a series of anomalies and provisos for critical, heterodox, and mainstream economic approaches and provides new perspectives on debates about political economic change in advanced economies since the 2007-2008 financial crisis.
The Digitalization of Financial Markets : The Socioeconomic Impact of Financial Technologies by
Publication Date: 2021-10-10
The book provides deep insight into theoretical and empirical evidence on information and communication technologies (ICT) as an important factor affecting financial markets. It is focused on the impact of ICT on stock markets, bond markets, and other categories of financial markets, with the additional focus on the linked FinTech services and financial institutions. Financial markets shaped by the adoption of the new technologies are labeled 'digital financial markets'.
Global Stock Market Development : Quantitative and Behavioural Analysis by
Publication Date: 2021-09-26
In the current era of globalised financial markets, the stock market cannot be assessed solely by comparing quantitative features such as the number of listed companies or capitalisation on the stock exchange. This is of secondary importance from an investor's point of view. What is important, however, is how a given stock market behaves towards the environment - whether it is 'hyperactive' or 'excessively lethargic' in response to information. This book provides an innovative tool for assessing global stock markets.
DeFi and the Future of Finance by
Publication Date: 2021-08-24
During the Global Financial Crisis in 2008, our financial infrastructure failed. Governments bailed out the very institutions that let the economy down. This episode spurred a serious rethink of our financial system. Does it make any sense that it takes two days to settle a stock transaction? Why do retailers, operating on razor thin margins, have to pay 3% for every customer credit card swipe? Why does it take two days to transfer money from a bank account to a brokerage--or any other company? The book argues that the current financial landscape is ripe for disruption and we are seeing, in real time, the reinvention of finance.
Understanding Cybersecurity Management in FinTech : Challenges, Strategies, and Trends by
Publication Date: 2021-08-05
This book uncovers the idea of understanding cybersecurity management in FinTech. It commences with introducing fundamentals of FinTech and cybersecurity to readers. It emphasizes on the importance of cybersecurity for financial institutions by illustrating recent cyber breaches, attacks, and financial losses. The book delves into understanding cyber threats and adversaries who can exploit those threats. It advances with cybersecurity threat, vulnerability, and risk management in FinTech.
The Palgrave Handbook of FinTech and Blockchain by
Publication Date: 2021-06-02
Financial services technology and its effect on the field of finance and banking has been of major importance within the last few years. The spread of these so-called disruptive technologies, including Blockchain, has radically changed financial markets and transformed the operation of the industry as a whole. This is the first multidisciplinary handbook of FinTech and Blockchain covering finance, economics, and legal aspects globally.
21st Century Investing : Redirecting Financial Strategies to Drive Systems Change by
Publication Date: 2021-04-13
Two experienced and visionary authors show how institutions and individuals can go beyond conventional and sustainable investing to address complex problems such as income inequality and climate change on a deep, systemic level. It's time for a new way to think about investing, one that can contend with the complex challenges we face in the 21st century. Investment today has evolved from the basic, conventional approach of the 1950s. Investors have since recognized the importance of sustainable investment and have begun considering environmental and social factors.
Candlestick Forecasting for Investments : Applications, Models and Properties by
Publication Date: 2021-03-11
Candlestick charts are often used in speculative markets to describe and forecast asset price movements. This book is the first of its kind to investigate candlestick charts and their statistical properties. It provides an empirical evaluation of candlestick forecasting. The book proposes a novel technique to obtain the statistical properties of candlestick charts. The technique, which is known as the range decomposition technique, shows how security price is approximately logged into two ranges, i.e. technical range and Parkinson range.
What if DePaul doesn't have the book, video or article I need?
Click Here for more information about requesting items through interlibrary loan.