Background Sources
- EBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new windowCross-searchable collection of sources that includes biographical sources. Search by the individual's name.
- Credo Reference: Biographical SourcesAn online collection of several standard sources including Marquis Who's Who in America and Notable American Women among others.
American
- Scribner Encyclopedia of American LivesScholarly biographies of notable Americans including family members; educational background; names of spouses and marriage and divorce dates; addresses of residences; and cause of death and place of burial.
- American National Biography This link opens in a new windowAmerican National Biography includes biographical information on over 18,700 men & women whose lives have shaped the United States. It is updated semi-annually with new entries and revisions to existing content.
Access note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
British/Irish
- Dictionary of Irish BiographyBiographical dictionary containing articles which describe the lives of Irish men and women who made a significant contribution in Ireland and abroad, as well as those born overseas who had noteworthy careers in Ireland.
Middle East
- Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North AfricaIlluminates the lives of the most influential and controversial figures in the Middle East and North Africa who came to prominence during the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Includes profiles of contemporary leaders who belong to various political, ethnic, and religious groups, as well as notable individuals associated with business, law, science, social issues, sports, entertainment, literature, and the fine and performing arts.
Science & Technology
- Complete Dictionary of Scientific BiographyProvides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.
- American Men & Women of Science, 2014Profiles living persons in the physical and biological fields, as well as public health scientists, engineers, mathematicians, statisticians, and computer scientists.
Arts
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new windowGrove is a great place to get background information on an artist, period or style from prehistory to the modern era and is one of the most significant arts reference sources available. The print version is titled The Dictionary of Art.
Access note: Limited to 11 simultaneous users.
- Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians (print only)Lincoln Park Reference Collection
R. 780.922 B168b2001
- Benezit Dictionary of Artists This link opens in a new windowThe Benezit Dictionary of Artists contains almost 170,000 entries on artists from antiquity to the present day and it also has thousands of auction records, museum holdings, and bibliographies. Two notable strengths are its coverage of obscure artists and its inclusion of images of artists? signatures, monograms, and stamps.
Access note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
- Contemporary MusiciansProvides biographical information on important figures in today's musical arena, covering artists working in all genres of modern music, including rock, jazz, pop, rap, rhythm and blues, folk, New Age, country, gospel and reggae.
- International Dictionary of Films and FilmmakersProvides coverage of films and filmmakers, including actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists. Entries include a detailed essay written by an expert; biographies; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies, as well as photographs.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowContains The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, and Grove Music Online which incorporates New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed., New Grove Dictionary of Opera and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
Access note: Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
Business
- CQ Press Library This link opens in a new windowProvides access to many of CQ Press's reference titles on government and politics.
Political Figures
- Illinois Blue BookOfficial register of Illinois state government, including biographies of all state legislators and elected officials.
- Women in World History: A Biographical EncyclopediaCovers women of historical interest worldwide, from around 3100 BCE to the modern age.
- Contemporary Hispanic BiographyBiographical profiles of the important and influential persons of Latino heritage who form the international Hispanic community.
- Notable Black American Men, Book IIProfiles contemporary and historic figures . Covering the most prominent newsmakers as well as lesser-known individuals, each volume offers full biographical entries, portraits, addresses for living listees and recommended sources for further study.
- Who's Who Among African Americans, 2014Provides biographical and career details on notable African American individuals, including leaders from sports, the arts, business, religion and other fields
- Contemporary Black BiographyProvides informative biographical profiles of the important and influential persons of African American and/or black heritage. Covers persons of various nationalities in a wide variety of fields, including architecture, art, business, dance, education, fashion, film, industry, journalism, law, literature, medicine, music, politics and government, publishing, religion, science and technology, social issues, sports, television, theater, and others.
