Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Started : Best Encyclopedias and Reference
Start your research with these featured resources, or use the tabs above for additional resources.
International Encyclopedia of Ethics This link opens in a new window
Over 700 entries on all areas of ethics including the topics, movements, arguments, and key figures in Normative Ethics, Metaethics, and Practical Ethics, as well as major philosophical and religious traditions. All entries are authored and peer-reviewed.
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society This link opens in a new window
Spans the relationships among business, ethics, and society including coverage of corporate social responsibility, the obligation of companies to various stakeholder groups, the contribution of business to society and culture, and the relationship between organizations and the quality of the environment.
General Encyclopedias and Reference Tools
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable collection of more than 100 encyclopedias and handbooks from SAGE.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) is a peer-reviewed, scholarly resource. Most of the articles in the IEP are original, signed contributions by specialized philosophers.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, open access encyclopedia refereed by an editorial board and constantly updated.
Access note: Freely available to the public.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An online, cross-searchable collection of reference books on a variety of subjects from more than 50 publishers.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Detailed etymologies of words comprising the English language. This online version of the venerable OED is a work in progress; hundreds of new entries are added yearly.
EBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable collection of over two thousand reference titles from Gale. Previously known as Gale Virtual Reference Library.