Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology This link opens in a new window
Definitions and explanations of key concepts in sociology, with entries ranging from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics. Includes a timeline, lexicon by subject area, and extensive bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
Covers the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced the study of activism.
Encyclopedia of Community This link opens in a new window
Covers topics such as types of communities, social capital, technology, urban life, politics and law, community design, and global studies.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment This link opens in a new window
Reference work in the field of criminology and criminal justice.
Handbook of Death & Dying This link opens in a new window
Covers the study of death-related behavior.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society This link opens in a new window
Focuses on gender scholarship within areas of social research. Topics covered include: art, popular culture, sports, organizations, body image, health, economics, environment, gender identities & roles, politics, public policy, social movements, ethnicity, education, sexuality and reproduction.
Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Health, Illness, Behavior, and Society This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary international reference work on all aspects of the social scientific study of health and illness; regularly updated with new research and theoretical findings.
Encyclopedia of Homelessness This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the current situation in the United States with a comparative sampling of homelessness around the world. Key themes include causes, lifestyle issues, health issues & services, legal issues & advocacy, governmental policies & programs, research approaches, and public perceptions of homelessness.
Encyclopedia of Human Development This link opens in a new window
Cross-disciplinary coverage on topics such as adolescence, cognitive development, education, family, gender differences, identity, longitudinal research, personality development, prenatal development, and temperament.
Encyclopedia of Human Geography This link opens in a new window
Overview of the major ideas, concepts, terms, and approaches that characterize the field of human geography. Key themes include cartography/geographical information systems, economic geography, geographic theory & history, political geography, social/cultural geography, and urban geography.
Encyclopedia of Identity This link opens in a new window
Offers an overview of the definitions, politics, manifestations, concepts, and ideas related to identity. Includes short biographies of major thinkers and leaders, as well as discussions of events, personalities, and concepts.
International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of many of the major ideas, concepts, terms, and approaches that characterize this diverse field of organization studies.
Encyclopedia of Power This link opens in a new window
Covers power from the perspectives of political science, public administration, urban studies, international relations, economics, and sociology.
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity and Society This link opens in a new window
Focuses on issues related to race and ethnicity. Includes coverage of specific ethnic, nationality, tribal, and racial groups in the United States and from around the world.
Encyclopedia of Social Problems This link opens in a new window
Covers topics related to the study of social problems. Topics include: Aging and the Life Course; Community, Culture, and Change; Crime and Deviance; Economics and Work; Education; Family; Gender Inequality and Sexual Orientation; Health; Housing and Urbanization; Politics, Power, and War; Population and Environment; Poverty and Social Class; Race and Ethnic Relations; Social Movements; Social Theory; and Substance Abuse.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, 2nd ed. (2008) This link opens in a new window
Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of social science research methods. Includes definitions of methodological terms and essays discussing the nature, history, application/example and implication of using a certain method.
Encyclopedia of Social Theory This link opens in a new window
Covers key social theories and the theorists. Theories covered include Critical Theory, Enlightenment, Ethnomethodology, Exchange Theory, Feminism, Marxist Theory, Multiculturalism, Phenomenology, Postmodernism, Rational Choice, and Structural Fundamentalism.
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America This link opens in a new window
Provides basic information about the history of social welfare in Canada, Mexico, and the United States.
Encyclopedia of World Poverty This link opens in a new window
Explores poverty in various regions of the world, and examine the difficulties associated with the definition and measurement of poverty, along with its causes and effects.
Sociology of Work: An Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Examines work from a multidisciplinary perspective with A-Z entries and a chronology.
U.S. Immigration and Migration Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Chronicles and interpretations of the phenomenal waves of immigration to the United States from the earliest times through the period from 1820 to 1930, when the United States was the destination of some 60% of the world's immigrants -- up to the present day.
Credo Reference: Social Sciences
Why Use Background Sources?
Background sources will help you:
- Learn important dates and events around your topic
- Browse a chronology or timeline for your topic
- Discover what scholars are talking about when they talk about your topic
- Find out who the experts are: who researches and writes about your topic
- Explore keywords and subject-specific vocabulary that can be used for database searches
- Find bibliographies that lead to additional resources