Guides: Management Research Guide: Data & Financials

Financials, Key Business Ratios and Sample Business Plans

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Alternative to Thomson ONE especially for users of Firefox or Safari browsers. Provides detailed financials for public companies and directory access/screening capabilities for private companies worldwide.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A company search will lead to a profile or "dossier" with basic financials and links to SEC filings for public companies.
Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
Online access to competitive benchmarking data compiled from D&B??s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.

Business Plans Handbook
A collection of actual business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses throughout North America.

Research Tip

The balance sheet of public companies must be disclosed on a quarterly basis. If you are attempting to research a private company or a subsidiary/division of a public company, understand you will not find the same level of detail. At best, you might find an estimated sales/revenue figure as part of a basic directory entry.

Market Research

SMA: Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable news and market research from the National Sporting Goods Association and other industry sources on all aspects of sporting goods, sports equipment, participation, demographics, fan profiles, sports finance, sponsorship, broadcasting, media, and marketing.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Market research database providing statistics and analysis on companies, industries, economies, and consumers worldwide.
Access note: Some users might encounter a single sign-on (SSO) prompt in error and subsequent link to “Contact your institution." We recommend first trying a different browser or clearing cookies to see if doing so resolves the issue.
Access note: Not available to walk-in users.