How to Use This Guide
This guide is for students in the course OT 433 Adult Rehabilitation & Wellness. On the Home page, you will find general resources for evidence-based practices in occupational therapy. Use the column on the left-hand side to navigate to resources for specific diagnoses, which includes nonprofit organizations, associations, and community resources for each group.
Evidence-Based Programs
The following AOTA Practice Guidelines were published in the American Journal of Occupational Therapy. The links below provide the article via DePaul University Library's subscription.
Occupational Therapy Practice Guidelines for:
National Council On Aging
Use this tool to search for evidence-based programs that match your community's needs and are approved for funding through Older Americans Act Title III-D.
Key Occupational Therapy Databases
-
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full text access to nursing journals, practice acts, and conference proceedings.
Dates Covered: 1980-present. -
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. It provides abstracts and citations to peer-reviewed literature, including journal articles, books, book chapters and theses.
Dates Covered: 1887-present. -
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Indexes biomedical journals from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. Also links to molecular biology databases of DNA/protein sequences and 3-D structure data.
Dates Covered: 1966-present.
Access note: Freely available to the public. Government resources may be unexpectedly unavailable or altered in alignment with current federal administration priorities.
-
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Find physician-authored evidence-based information intended to support clinical decision-making at the point-of-care. UpToDate’s decision-support information is integrated with evidence-based drug and drug interaction information from Lexicomp. Use the library link above to register and set up your DePaul UpToDate account. Once your account is created, you will be able to use the mobile app.
Access note: Available only to currently enrolled students, faculty, and staff; not available to walk-in users.
