Faculty Research Guide: ORCID iD's

ORCID is an acronym for Open Researcher and Contributor ID. ORCID identifiers (ORCID iDs) are persistent unique, open digital identifiers that distinguish you from every other researcher with the same or a similar name to you. Think of an ORCID iD as a DOI (digital object identifier) for researchers and scholars.

Anyone who participates in research, scholarship, or innovation can register an ORCID iD for themselves free of charge. They enable the automation of links to research objects such as publications, grants, presentations, data, patents and more. You can use the same iD throughout your whole career -- even if your name changes or you move to a different organization, discipline, or country. 

Why use ORCID iDs? ORCID iDs:

• Resolve issues of name disambiguation.
• Ensure that a researcher's scholarship is correctly attributed.
• Are now required by some publishers and funding organizations
• Can seamlessly add any citation with a DOI to the ORCID profile via a CrossRef and DataCite integration
• Seamlessly (in many instances) captures/maintains research from past, current, and future places of employment.
• Can be linked to unique IDs in other systems (Author ID in Scopus) and ResearcherID in Web of Science, to add new citations to the ORCID account automatically.
• Will increase their integration with publisher and funding agency submission systems, which means that once the item is published or the grant awarded, that information is updated in the appropriate ORCID account(s).

What ORCID Is Not:

• A social or professional networking site (like ResearchGate, Academia.edu, LinkedIn, Facebook, etc.)
• Invasive -- no constant influx of communication from ORCID

Registering an ORCID iD

1. Go to: https://orcid.org/register
2. Complete the information on the form
   • name
   • e-mail
     • An account already exists: You will see a warning message if your email address is already associated with an ORCID iD. You cannot create a second account using the same email address. Reset your password to restore access to the account.
   • set a password
   • current employment
3. Determine the default level of privacy you want. (ORCID recommends choosing Everyone or Trusted Parties as your default visibility setting as this will enable your information to be shared with the systems you interact with, allowing you to benefit from their ORCID integrations.) 

   	Everyone
   	Trusted Parties
   	Only Me

4. Un-select notification e-mail check boxes according to your preference.
5. Select the "Terms of Use" checkbox -- required to register.
6. Click the "Register" button. 

Completing your ORCID profile

On the left sidebar, provide the following information:

• "Also known as" -- all the name variants you have used for your research (including abbreviations, transliterations, name changes, etc.)
• Country -- country with which you are affiliated
• Keywords -- words or phrases that describe your research interests
• Websites -- any websites you have related to your research, including your Google Scholar Profile.

Complete the following information:

• Biography
• Education
• Employment
• Funding 
• Works -- Add works using your Scopus Author ID, your Web of Knowledge ResearcherID, your citation account at Google Scholar, works indexed in any resource that supports the export of a BibTeX file, or add them manually.

For detailed information about all aspects of your ORCID profile, use the documentation provided by ORCID.

• Airiti: Airiti allows you to import metadata from Airiti Library, including journal papers, proceedings, dissertations, and books. Recommended for researchers who have published works in Chinese.

• BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine): BASE allows you to claim and import works from the Bielefeld Academic Search Engine. To use, you must first create a BASE user account. Recommended for authors of open access publications.

• CrossRef Metadata Search: CrossRef Metadata Search allows you to search and add works by title or DOI. Once you have authorized the connection and are logged into ORCID, CrossRef search results include a button to add works to your ORCID record.

• DataCite: DataCite allows you to find your research datasets, images, and other works. Recommended for locating works other than articles as well as works that can be found by DOI.

• Deutsche Nationalbibliothek (DNB): DNB allows you to find your books, dissertations, and other works. The corresponding authority record (GND) will be added as an external identifier to your ORCID record.

• Europe PubMed Central: Europe PubMed Central allows you to import works from the Europe PubMed database, which includes all articles indexed by PubMed Central. Recommended for adding multiple published articles, and patents.

• HAL: HAL allows you to import works from the open archive HAL. HAL is the French multidisciplinary open archive that provides open access to the major part of the national scientific outputs.

• ISNI: ISNI allows you to link your ISNI record in the Other IDs section.

• Japan Link Center (JaLC): Japan Link Center (JaLC) allows you to search and add works by title or DOI. Once you have authorized the connection and are logged into ORCID, Japan Link Center search results include a button to add works to your ORCID record.
• The Lens: The Lens serves global patent and scholarly knowledge on a public good platform, enabling you to import all your scholarly works and patents to your ORCID record from a single location. Use your ORCID Plus Profile on Lens to quickly find and sync all your works to ORCID and showcase your career output on an auto-generated author/inventor profile that is based on your ORCID record.

• MLA International Bibliography: MLA International Bibliography allows users to import books and articles from the Modern Language Association's database. Recommended for adding works in the humanities.

• DOE/OSTI: Search over 3 million energy and basic science research result records from the US Department of Energy (DOE) and predecessor agencies. Import records from OSTI.GOV into your ORCID record, including journal articles; technical reports; data; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books; dissertations and theses; and multimedia. DOE’s Office of Scientific and Technical Information (DOE OSTI) fulfills agency-wide responsibilities to collect, preserve, and disseminate research results emanating from DOE-funded activities at DOE national laboratories and facilities, at universities, and other institutions nationwide.

• Redalyc: Redalyc allows you to import metadata from Redalyc's index of open access peer-reviewed journals. Recommended for researchers who have published in Spanish or Portuguese.

• Research Data Australia: Research Data Australia enables the discovery of datasets from Australian research organisations, government agencies, and cultural institutions. Use the Research Data Australia ORCID Wizard to search for your datasets and add them to your ORCID profile.

• ResearcherID: This ResearcherID publication wizard is temporarily unavailable while ResearcherID is moving to Web of Science. Follow this link to join Web of Science, find your publications on Web of Science, and export them to ORCID. Recommended for adding multiple published articles to your ORCID record.

• Scopus Author ID: Use this wizard to add your Scopus Author ID to your Other IDs section of your record and import works associated with your Scopus Author ID; see Manage My [Scopus] Author Profile for more information. Recommended for adding multiple published articles to your ORCID record.

• OpenAire: This wizard allows you to claim and import works from OpenAire Explore, including journal articles, datasets, software and other research outputs. To use, you must first sign in to OpenAire.

Author profiles allow you to link all of your publications to yourself and your institution in one profile, while also distinguishing your work from the works of others who have the same name as you.

• Scopus Author ID
• Google Scholar Profile
• Publons

Include your ORCID iD on your web page and email signature, and use it when prompted as you submit a manuscript, apply for a grant, and in any other research workflow to ensure you get credit for your work. 

The National Science Foundation (NSF) encourages researchers to use ORCID iDs to create and maintain biographical sketches (biosketches) for grant applications and annual reports. All proposal submissions to the NSF require ORCID iDs.

Since 2020, ORCID iDs have been required for all National Institutes of Health (NIH), Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) grant submissions.