Background Information: Online Sources
It's always helpful to start with some background information. Try the sources below first.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowAn online, cross-searchable collection of reference books on a variety of subjects from more than 50 publishers.
Political Handbook of the World 2020-2021 by ISBN: 9781544384719Publication Date: 2021Compiling in one place more than 200 entries on countries and territories throughout the world, this volume is renowned for its extensive coverage of all major and minor political parties and groups in each political system. The Political Handbook of the World 2020-2021 also provides names of key ambassadors and international memberships of each country, plus detailed profiles of more than 30 intergovernmental organizations and UN agencies.
The Oxford Handbook of International Political Theory by ISBN: 9780198746928Publication Date: 2018The Handbook consists of fifty chapters organized into nine sections, covering History, Traditions and Perspectives, International Justice, Violence and Conflict, Humanitarianism and Human Rights, Democracy, Accountability and Global Governance, Ethics and International Public Policy, New Directions in International Political Theory, and the relationship between International Political Theory and Real Politics.
The Palgrave Handbook of Critical International Political Economy by ISBN: 9781137500175Publication Date: 2016Problematizing socioeconomic and political structures, and considering these as potentially transitory and subject to change, the contributors aim not simply to understand a world of conflict, but furthermore to uncover the ways in which purportedly objective analyses reflect the interests of those in positions of privilege and power.
The SAGE Handbook of the History, Philosophy and Sociology of International Relations by ISBN: 9781473966598Publication Date: 2018Comprising 38 chapters from both established scholars and an emerging generation of innovative meta-theorists and theoretically driven empiricists, the handbook fosters discussion of the field from the inside out, forcing us to come to grips with the widely held perception that IR is experiencing an existential crisis quite unlike anything else in its hundred-year history.
