Article Databases
Search these recommended databases to find quality sources for your research paper.
- ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window Includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry. This database covers business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Dates Covered: 1971-present
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Preview the new look for Academic Search Complete Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education. Dates Covered: 1887-present. Extent: Multidisciplinary
This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window Preview the new look for Business Source Ulitmate Comprehensive coverage of journals and trade publications in all business-related disciplines. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, company profiles, SWOT analyses, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, Harvard Business Review, and Harvard Faculty Seminar Videos. Dates Covered: 1886-present. *Upgraded from Business Source Complete in July 2024*
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections on JSTOR which includes the full text of more than 2,600 journals in business, social sciences, science, and the humanities. Includes access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections including JSTOR Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Public Health Journals, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability.
- This link opens in a new window
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window Covers public affairs, policy & politics, international affairs & statistics. Includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world, journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
- Politics Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Includes PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Covers international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. It forms part of the Social Science Premium Collection. Dates covered: 1914-present.
- Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Includes the Criminology Collection, Education Collection, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Library & Information Science Collection, Linguistics Collection, Politics Collection, Social Science Database, and the Sociology Collection. This resource includes content from across the social sciences with deep coverage of sociology and politics, as well as coverage of criminal justice, education, linguistics, and language behavior. Extent: Multidisciplinary
Recognizing Scholarly Articles
Scholarly Articles Checklist
- Sources always documented in a bibliography,references or works cited list, or footnotes at the bottom of each page
- Lengthy often 10+ pages
- Authors' affiliations listed - professors, scholars, or researchers
- Describes the results of original research (e.g. experiments, case studies or analyses)
- Graphs, charts, tables, equations (especially in STEM disciplines)
- Written for experts - use of jargon or technical language
- Long, descriptive title
Selected Journals
- AEA Journals This link opens in a new window Provides full text access to the American Economic Association's core journals on microeconomics, macroeconomics, applied economics, and more. Dates covered: 1999-present
- American Political Science Review Available 2001-present
- Asian Economic Journal Available 1998-present (12 month embargo)
- ASIANetworkExchange Journal The ASIANetwork Exchange is a peer-reviewed publication, catering primarily to faculty appointed in liberal arts institutions with programs in Asian Studies.
- International Journal of Political Economy Available from 1987-present
- Journal of Asian Studies Empirical and multidisciplinary work on South and Southeast Asia to China, Inner Asia, and Northeast Asia spanning the arts, history, literature, social sciences, and cultural studies. Contains in-depth scholarship on Asia's past and present, extensive book reviews, and state-of-the-field essays on established and emerging topics.
- Journal of Political Economy Available from 1997-present
- World Politics Available from 1995-present