Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selecting and Using Digital IMages
Below is a curated list of open-source image collections. You can learn more about DePaul's image collections and how to save, store, and display digital images in the following How-To guide:
Art, Design, and Science Images
AccessCeramics is a growing collection of contemporary ceramics images by recognized artists enhancing ceramics education worldwide.
Art Images for College Teaching
The Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) collection is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large. All images in this collection are the copyrighted property of art historian and photographer Allan T. Kohl.
Europeana is a single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitized throughout Europe. It is an authoritative source of information coming from European cultural and scientific institutions.
NYPL Digital Gallery
Searchable database of images, including Civil War photographs, illuminated manuscripts, Japanese prints, early American maps, illustrations relating to the American Revolution, and archival photographs of New York City buildings and streetscapes.
VADS is the online resource for visual arts. It has provided services to the academic community for 12 years and has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.
Wellcome Images is one of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science. All our images are available on demand in digital form. Search online or use the expertise of our professional scientific and historical researchers.
The key goal of The Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives.
Getty Images This link opens in a new window
Getty Images, the world's largest professional-quality photo service, offers its image library for free. Users must employ an embed tool, which will generate HTML code that can be pasted into a website or blog.
Access note: Freely available to the public. Free usage is limited to non-commercial purposes.
Life Magazine Photo Archive
The archive contains millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
Luminous-Lint is an online scholarly non-commercial resource that has been constructed collaboratively over the last eight years to share information on the history of photography worldwide
National Archives Digital Photography Collections
An annotated list of links to various digital photography collections, both within the National Archives, as well as external collections.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs
Library of Congress online collection particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.