Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These are a few good places to start your search for primary source material:
Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Contains over 100 political and philosophical texts, including works by Descartes, Dewey, Foucault, Leibniz, Lombardus, Machiavelli, Maistre, Montaigne, Montesquieu, Pascal, Peirce, Plotinus, Spinoza, Suárez, Vico and Wright. Also includes some Chinese philosophy and Presocratic writings.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor is a collection of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, humanities, and social sciences for research and teaching purposes.
Online Collections at the Art Institute of Chicago
Explore thousands of artworks in the museum’s wide-ranging collection—from world-renowned icons to lesser-known gems from every corner of the globe—as well as our books, writings, reference materials, and other resources.
The Met: Renaissance Art
Hundreds of images of art works and descriptions from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Perseus Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A large digitization project based out of Tufts University, this collection includes documentary papyrii, primary and secondary sources for Greek & Roman classical and Renaissance texts, 19th century American primary source documents, and texts in Old English and Old Norse for the study of the Germanic peoples, among others.
Access note: Freely available to the public.
Civilization of the Italian Renaissance by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2011-06-30
The Civilization of the Italian Renaissance brings together a selection of primary source documents designed to introduce students to the richness of the period. For this edition, a new chapter on Dante and his time provides a useful transition to the Renaissance from the culture of the Middle Ages. There are also new selections on warfare, education, Florence, humanism, the Church, and the later Renaissance. The introductions to the readings are revised, and an essay on how to read historical documents is included.
Special Collections Bibliography
Find these books in DePaul's Special Collections
You can search Google Books or HathiTrust to find published books online. If it was published before 1923, you have a good chance of finding the entire book online.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Immense, continuously updated digital collection providing enhanced search and availability of millions of public domain, in-copyright, and permissioned digitized books, federal government documents and serial publications in a variety of languages from sources such as Google Books, Internet Archive, Microsoft and initiatives at partner academic and research institutions.
Access note: Freely available to the public. Current DePaul faculty, staff and students get extra functionality when logged in such as full PDF downloads of public domain and permissioned works and options to create and share content collections. To log in, click the LOGIN button and select DePaul from the list.