Speech Language Pathology Research Guide: Patient Counseling & Education

AHA is the national professional, scientific, and credentialing association for speech language pathologists.

CDC is the nation's leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public's health.

Find easy-to-read information on health conditions, symptoms, and wellness. Available in multiple languages.

Features thousands of health articles on health, diseases, treatments, drugs, diagnoses, and symptoms.

Find articles on health and wellness topics.

The Mayo Clinic Health Library features articles and information on diseases, symptoms, wellness, and other medical topics.

A division of the National Institute of Health, NIA leads research in aging, and especially Alzheimer's disease research.

Developed at Portland State University, this site summarizes expert information for clinical use by SLPs (Speech-Language Pathologists) and students when serving individuals from diverse linguistic & cultural backgrounds.

The Lingraphica blog includes articles on communication impairments, aphasia, autism, traumatic brain injury, and other topics.

Find current research, easy-to-read information, and local support resources for individuals with Alzheimer's.

Local chapter for the Alzheimer's Association.

A division of the National Institute of Health, NIA leads research in aging, and especially Alzheimer's disease research.

Contains information, research, and support groups for dementia, Alzheimer's, and related diseases.

Find resources for caregivers, service providers, and people with aphasia.

List of resources for patients, caregivers, and healthcare providers on aphasia.

Find projects and publications produced by this lab group on aphasia.

The Resources page provides a wide range of information for deaf and hard of hearing people, their families, and friends. This page is also helpful for employers, businesses, and government agencies who need to provide equal opportunity and equal access for deaf or hard of hearing people.

The American Society for Deaf Children (ASDC) is committed to empowering all families with deaf* and hard-of-hearing children and youth by embracing full language and communication access in inclusive environments through mentoring, advocacy, resources, and collaborative networks.

The Hearing Help page provides information about hearing loss, technology, and a glossary of terms.

Local chapter for the Hearing Loss Association of America.

Monthly magazine that gives visibility to the Deaf Community, provides a forum for Deaf views, and enlightenment to hearing readers.

Provides youth programs, parent resources, outreach and more for people who are Deaf, DeafBlind, and Hard of Hearing.

Provides information for families and professionals.

Local center that offers free tutoring for children with dyslexia.

Includes education and support for various populations living with Parkinson's Disease, as well as current research studies and grants.

Contains information for understanding and living with Parkinson's, and local resources.

Local chapter for the Parkinson's Foundation.

Produces articles, podcasts, and webinars on Parkinson's, and provides opportunities for research.

Provides free online resources, services, and support to those who stutter and their families.

Shared Voices is a community in Chicago for people who stutter.

Includes a Free Resources page with handouts, videos, and blog posts.

National nonprofit organization that includes resources for kids, teens, parents, teachers, and SLPs.

Includes resources on stuttering and has local chapters.

National nonprofit focused on support and advocacy for people ages 3-18 who stutter.