Corporate & Securities Law Libguide

IMPORTANT - MOST CURRENT NUTSHELLS & HORNBOOKS Are

Available via our TREATISES, PRACTICE GUIDES & STUDY AIDS DATABASE LIST

WEST ACADEMIC STUDY AIDS (4TH DATABASE DOWN ON LIST)

(YOU MAY NEED TO CREATE AN ACCOUNT ONCE IN THE WEST ACADEMIC STUDY AIDS DATABASE)

• The Law of Corporations in a Nutshell by R. Freer

  • Call Number: Law Stacks KF1414.3 .H35 2016

    ISBN: 9781634597012

    Publication Date: 2016-09-20

    Completely revised and updated, conversational in tone, the book features hypotheticals to illustrate key concepts. Comprehensive yet concise, it addresses the theory of the firm as well as the nuts-and-bolts of corporate law, including separate consideration of specialized issues raised by closely-held and public corporations. With updated discussion of Sarbanes-Oxley, Rule 10b-5, and Section 16(b), it gives broad background. Financial concepts are explained with helpful examples, so that even sociology majors need not fear them.

• Corporate Finance in a Nutshell by J. Haas

  • Call Number: Law Stacks KF1428.Z9 H33 2015

    ISBN: 0314289631

    Publication Date: 2015-09-01

    This up-to-date and comprehensive title covers the entire field of corporate finance, including the recent changes stemming from the Dodd-Frank Act. In addition to discussing accounting and valuation concepts, it provides extensive coverage of the legal and financial underpinnings of debt securities, preferred and common stock, and derivative instruments (options, forward contracts, futures contracts and swap contracts). It also provides sample valuation problems, answers, and explanations. Written in "plain-English," you will find the work particularly useful, with or without any business background.

• Corporation Law by F. Gevurtz

  • Call Number: Law Stacks KF1413 .G48 2010 (MOST CURRENT IS AVAIL. VIA "LINK" AT TOP OF THIS BOX ("WEST ACADEMIC STUDY AIDS" - 4TH DATABASE DOWN ON "TREATISES, PRACTICE GUIDES & STUDY AIDS" LIST)

    ISBN: 9780314159793

    Publication Date: 2010-08-30

    MOST CURRENT IS AVAIL. VIA "LINK" AT TOP OF THIS BOX ("WEST ACADEMIC STUDY AIDS" - 4TH DATABASE DOWN ON "TREATISES, PRACTICE GUIDES & STUDY AIDS" LIST)

• Anatomy of a Merger: Strategies and Techniques for Negotiating Corporate Acquisitions by J. C. Freund

  • Call Number: Law Stacks KF1477 .F74

    Publication Date: c1975, 1976 printing

• The Corporate Counsel's Guide to Meditation by G. Poon

  • Call Number: Law Stacks KF 9084 .P668

    ISBN: 9781604426465

    Publication Date: 2011-07-16

    This book is designed to help corporate counsel successfully settle commercial disputes through mediation. It examines the unique role that corporate counsel can play in mediation and offers step-by-step guidance. Topics include: an overview of the mediation alternative for corporate counsel; drafting mediation clauses; court-directed mediations; selecting the right mediator; preparing a case for mediation; participating in the mediation sessions; follow-up action after the mediation; and cross-cultural mediations.

• Corporate Director's Guidebook by H. A. Sale

  • Call Number: Law Stacks KF 1423.Z9 .C67 2011

    ISBN: 9781616328740

    Publication Date: 2012-04-16

    The Sixth Edition is being published in the wake of the 2007-2010 financial crisis and the resulting legislation, the Dodd-Frank wall street Reform and Consumer Protection Act (Dodd-Frank Act). As a result, this edition emphasizes themes arising out of the crisis and important to all directors, particularly those in public companies. [A 7TH ED. OF THIS TITLE EXISTS, HOWEVER IT IS NOT HELD IN OUR LAW LIBRARY]

• Directors and Officers Liability Insurance by M. R. Davisson

  • Call Number: Law Stacks KF1423 .D58 2011 (this is an older version (2011) of a title that is now in its 5th ed. (2019))

    ISBN: 9781616329198

    Publication Date: 2012-08-16

    Again, this is an older version (2011) of a title that is now in its 5th ed (2019)
    Be it enhancements or restrictions, the scope of D&O policy coverage has reflected the corporate events of the time, most frequently as outlined in case decisions interpreting the same.

• The Election Law Primer for Corporation, 5th ed. by J. W. Baran

  • Call Number: Law Stacks KF4886 .B37 2008

    ISBN: 9781590317426

    Publication Date: 2008-12-16

    The Fifth Edition provides the current information and expert interpretation needed to keep pace with regulations governing corporate political contributions, lobbying, PACs, and gifts. This new edition brings authoritative, insight-rich explanations of major federal enactments since the Fourth Edition published in 2004. [A 6TH ED. OF THIS TITLE EXISTS BUT IS NOT HELD IN OUR LAW LIBRARY]

• Handbook for the Conduct of Shareholders' Meetings by T. S. Van Dam

  • Call Number: Law Stacks KF1450 .H36 2010

    ISBN: 9781604426236

    Publication Date: 2011-07-16

    This updated edition provides concise and practical guidance on organizing and conducting shareholders' meetings for management, shareholders and counsel with primary focus on state law.

• Incorporate Your Business by Anthony Mancuso

  • Call Number: This is the 1st edition (2001) of this title - that is now in its 10th edition (2019) - Available Here via E-book

    ISBN: 0585409943

    [Again - this is the 1st edition of a title that is now in its 10th edition] - Incorporate Your Business is the easy-to-read guide to forming a corporation in any state. It takes readers through the entire process, step by step and in plain English. When they're finished, their businesses will enjoy: -- unique tax benefits -- investment attraction -- immediate organization -- corporate income splitting -- and moreThe book provides all the Articles, bylaws and minutes anyone needs, as tear-outs and on CD-ROM.

• Internal Corporate Investigations by B. D. Brian & B. F. McNeil

  • Call Number: Law Stacks ; KF9351 .I58 2007

    ISBN: 9781590319154

    Publication Date: 2007-11-30

    In the wake of highly publicized corporate shake-ups, internal investigations have gained national prominence and established themselves as an important tool of management. This newly updated and expanded resource guides you through the intricate steps of conducting an effective and efficient internal investigation. Each chapter covers one aspect of conducting an investigation, clearly describing and advising you on the methods and skills involved, while providing you with practical tips on anticipating, recognizing, and avoiding the traps you are certain to encounter.

• Liability of Corporate Officers and Directors by D. A. Bailey & W. E. Knepper

  • Call Number: Law Stacks KF1423 .K54 1998 (MOST CURRENT EDITION IS ON LEXIS PLUS - OLDER EDITIONS IN LAW STKS)

    ISBN: 0327007303

    Publication Date: 1998-01-01

    The most current edition is on Lexis! Older editions are in the law stacks.

• Principles of Corporate Governance by American Law Institute - Staff

  • Call Number: Law Stacks KF 1422.P75

    ISBN: 9780314194138

    Publication Date: 1994-01-01