Explore Key Themes
Key themes of this exhibition include exploring educational pedagogy and the intersection of art practice with political and social issues. Search the DePaul Library databases below to find articles related to these themes.
Educational Pedagogy
Influences
Paulo Freire
-
Díaz, Kim. "Paolo Freire." The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy, ISSN 2161-0002, https://iep.utm.edu/freire.Encyclopedia Article (Open Access/Available to All)
John Dewey
-
Field, Richard. "John Dewey." The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy, ISSN 2161-0002, https://iep.utm.edu/dewey.Encyclopedia Article (Open Access/Available to All)
Intersection of Art Practice with Political and Social Issues
Influences
Jane Addams, Hull House
-
Johnson, Mary Ann. "Hull House." Encyclopedia of Chicago.Encyclopedia Article (Open Access/Available to All)
-
Art and Social Justice Education: Culture as Commons
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 1136976752(Requires DePaul Campus Connect login)
-
Kalin, Nadine M. “Art’s Pedagogical Paradox.” Studies in Art Education, vol. 55, no. 3, Spring 2014, pp. 190–202. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1080/00393541.2014.11518929.Article (Requires DePaul Campus Connect login)
Article Databases
-
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes the Criminology Collection, Education Collection, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Library & Information Science Collection, Linguistics Collection, Politics Collection, Social Science Database, and the Sociology Collection. This resource includes content from across the social sciences with deep coverage of sociology and politics, as well as coverage of criminal justice, education, linguistics, and language behavior.
-
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from art journals and museum bulletins. Coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994; full-text coverage for selected periodicals begins in 1997. Dates Covered: 1984-Present.
-
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic and full text access to scholarly research and information relating to many areas of education.
-
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
The world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences and is the largest education database in the world. It includes over 1 million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books. It is also available as part of of ProQuest Education Collection.
Dates covered: 1966-present.