Critical Ethnic Studies Research Guide: Databases

More than 800 videos on human culture and behavior; users can share via embeddable links, create playlists and clips, and annotate for course use.

Sourced from the records of the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries, this resource provides access to documents highlighting different responses to the challenges of overcoming prejudice, segregation and racial tensions.

Database focusing on the study of the historical development of black culture. Includes monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community.
Dates Covered: 1841-present.

Collection of primary source documents focusing on the abolitionist movement and the conflicts within it, the anti- and pro-slavery arguments of the period, and the debates on the subject of colonization. Explores the various components of the debate with a focus on economic, gender, legal, religious, and government issues. Also includes bibliographies, biographies, chronologies and scholarly essays.

Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Access note: Freely available to the public.

Data archives available to the public for secondary analysis from People and the Press, Hispanic Center, Global Attitudes, Internet & American Life, and Social & Demographic Trends research projects.
Access note: Freely available to the public.