Guides: Rinn Law Library Database List: Treatises, Practice Guides, &amp; Study Aids

Treatises, Practice Guides, & Study Aids

In-depth secondary sources that explain the law in a particular area and cite the relevant authorities that you will use in your arguments before the court are invaluable resources. As law students, you may also want access to study aids that will help you assess your understanding of a subject before finals.

These are not the only sources for legal treatises. Many of the most important and authoritative titles are included in the Major Legal Databases.

Aspen Learning Library
Contains many popular study aid series, including Examples & Explanations and Emanuel Outlines.
To access, click Login in the upper right corner, then select Single Sign-on on the bottom of the login screen. From the next screen, select DePaul University and enter your DePaul credentials.
If you wish to save your notes and highlights, you can then create a personal account.
CALI Library of Lessons
A collection of self-directed lessons covering a wide range of legal topics and written by experts in the relevant field.
IICLE SmartBooks
Illinois Institute for Continuing Legal Education's Illinois-specific practice guides aimed at legal professionals; includes some legal forms.
LexisNexis Digital Library
Overdrive-powered library of ebooks in Kindle and epub format. Primarily law study aids, which may be checked out and used on computers, ereaders, and mobile devices.
PLI Plus
PLI PLUS is an online research database from the nonprofit Practising Law Institute. It provides electronic access to the complete PLI Press print collection including authoritative treatises, practice guides, and course handbooks — as well as periodicals and transcripts from PLI’s acclaimed programs. Gain access to over 130,000 secondary source documents and search the most up-to-date industry information regarding changes in regulations, rulings and standard practices.
West Academic Study Aids
A collection of digital treatises and study aids, including questions to test your exam readiness and sample outlines.
To access titles, users will first need to register a separate account following the "Create an Account" link in the upper-right.