Guides: Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Research Guide: Research & Information Resources

Research & Information Resources

Guide Purpose

This guide is intended for research purposes only, and provides quick access to sources of published research and other research-related information on Coronavirus Disease 2019 (CORVID-19).

For updates and guidance for the DePaul community, users are directed to the website: go.depaul.edu/covid

For books, reference works, and other sources of general and background information on disease outbreaks, respiratory infections, viruses, and other related subjects, refer to the library's Health Sciences Research Guide.

COVID-19 Research Resources

LitCovid (National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, frequently-updated and curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. Articles are pulled from PubMed, and categorized by different research topics and geographic locations.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
As an alternative to the LitCovid database, you can view Covid-19 literature in PubMed, using the following suggested search strategy (copy & paste into PubMed search box):
("coronavirus 2019" OR covid-19 OR covid19 OR 2019nCoV OR "2019 nCoV" OR "2019 novel coronavirus" OR "coronavirus 2019" OR "coronavirus disease 2019" OR "corona virus disease 2019" OR ((wuhan AND coronavirus) AND 2019/12[PDAT]:2030[PDAT]) OR ("SARS-CoV-2" AND 2019/12[PDAT]:2030[PDAT]) )
Global research on coronavirus disease COVID-19 (WHO) This link opens in a new window
World Health Organization database gathering latest scientific findings and knowledge on coronavirus disease (COVID-19). Entries in the database may not be exhaustive and new research will be added regularly.

Introduction to COVID-19 in America: Response, Issues, and Law (Hein Online)
Search and browse across a broad compilation of government documents, articles and other materials relating to the social, health and economic impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic (includes access to a separate "COVID 19 In America" Library Research Guide)
Coronavirus news, funding and resources for global health researchers (Fogarty International Center)
Research information hub, including research news updates, from the Fogarty International Center at the National Institutes of Health.
Public Health Emergency COVID-19 Initiative (PubMed Central)
Find full text articles relating to COVID-19 voluntarily made available by a large and growing number of academic publishers worldwide through the “PubMed Central” biomedical and life sciences archive (maintained by the U.S. National Library of Medicine).
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
COVID-19 research resources--including articles, grey literature, data, news sources, and a downloadable literature database, provided through the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention. Also provides links to selected websites and organizations where you can find more information on COVID-19.

COVID-19 Health Organization Websites, Hubs & Portals

COVID-19 Map Resources

COVID-19 Global Cases Data (Center for Systems Science and Engineering, Johns Hopkins University)
Interactive map showing global cases of COVID-19. Maintained by the Center for Systems Science and Engineering (CSSE) at Johns Hopkins University (JHU).
COVID-19 Surveillance Dashboard (University of Virginia Biocomplexity Institute)
Maps and provides downloadable COVID-19 surveillance data obtained from health agencies worldwide, including: World Health Organization (WHO), the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC). Includes a timeline slider tool to visualize a variety of outbreak metrics.
WHO Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) Situation Dashboard
Interactive COVID-19 situation map provided by the World Health Organization

Special Access COVID-19 Resources (Provided Temporarily by Academic Publishers)

The following publishers have temporarily provided free access to frequently-updated collections of articles, book chapters and other research materials covering different aspects of COVID-19 (check resource descriptions for DePaul access to additional content available from these publishers):

Annual Reviews Article Collection: Coronavirus Research
Curated compilation of interdisciplinary articles related to Coronavirus research, accessible for a limited time.
Cambridge University Press
Freely-accessible to coronavirus research articles & book chapters published by Cambridge University Press (updated daily).
Elsevier Coronavirus Research Hub
Links to information on evidence-based practices and resources for COVID-19, covering topics from symptom management to diagnosis, treatment and ongoing wellness.
Elsevier: Novel Coronavirus Information Center
Research articles, commentary and other COVID-19-related information provided by the publisher: Elsevier.
For access to all of DePaul's subscribed content from the publisher, Elsevier, navigate from the library home page to: A-Z Databases > ScienceDirect
JAMA Network Publications
Access to information, research articles, and video/multimedia resources published across the 'JAMA Network'
The Lancet: COVID-19 Resource Centre
Research articles, commentary and other COVID-19-related information provided by the Lancet group of journals. For access to all of DePaul's subscribed content from the 'Lancet,' navigate from the library home page to: Find > Journals By Title > Lancet
New England Journal of Medicine
Research articles, commentary and other COVID-19-related information provided by the New England Journal of Medicine. For access to all of DePaul's subscribed content to this journal, navigate from the library home page to: Find > Journals By Title > NEJM
Sage Journals
Medical research and social/behavioral research relating to COVID-19 from Sage Publications.
Springer-Nature publications
Research articles, commentary and other COVID-19-related information provided by the publisher: Springer-Nature. For access to all DePaul's subscribed content from this publisher, navigate from the library home page to: A-Z Databases > SpringerLink
Taylor & Francis
COVID-19 content published in Taylor & Francis journals and ebook chapters.
Wiley
Research articles, commentary and other COVID-19-related information provided by the publisher: Wiley. Includes links to information sources from other publishers and organizations.
Wolters-Kluwer (Journals@Ovid)
Portal to COVID-19 information published by Wolters Kluwer in Ovid MEDLINE or Journals@Ovid (use "Advanced Search" option for greater control over your searches)