Use these databases and encyclopedias to help you select a topic or gain context on it.
Reference Databases
These collections allow you to search across a number of encyclopedias.
- EBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new windowCross-searchable collection of over two thousand reference titles from Gale. Previously known as Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Extent: Multidisciplinary - SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new windowCross-searchable collection of more than 100 encyclopedias and handbooks from SAGE.
Extent: Multidisciplinary - Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowAn online, cross-searchable collection of reference books on a variety of subjects from more than 50 publishers.
Specialized Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Global HealthCovers a broad array of health topics, including physical and mental health, profiles of medical institutions, organizations, and corporations, descriptions of drugs and operations, articles on national health policies, and thematic health topics in the humanities. Includes a glossary of health definitions.
- Encyclopedia of Medical AnthropologyOrganized into two main sections: topics and cultures. The topics section covers general topics relating to medical anthropology. The cultures section covers over 50 cultures from around the world and describes their health practices in detail.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Public HealthFind useful online encyclopedia entries on important public health concerns, including diseases and conditions, health and wellness promotion, statistics, sanitation, nutrition, environment, ethics and law
- Multimedia Encyclopedia of Women in Today's WorldComprehensive reference work on the status and prospects of women worldwide; includes 99 video clips from news agencies.
- Health Care Systems Around the World: A Comparative GuideExamines health care systems for over 190 countries in 10 categories: Emergency Services; Costs of Hospitalization; Costs of Drugs; Major Health Issues; Government Role; Insurance; Access; Facilities; Personnel; and Public Health Programs.
Routledge International Encyclopedia of WomenCall Number: R. 305.403 R869k2000 (Print)Features comprehensive global coverage of women's issues and concerns, from violence and sexuality to feminist theory.
Women and Health by Women and Health is a comprehensive reference that addresses health issues affecting women of all ages.
Librarian
Krystal M. Lewis
she/her
Contact:
Room 107
John T. Richardson Library
2350 N. Kenmore Ave.
Chicago, IL 60614
John T. Richardson Library
2350 N. Kenmore Ave.
Chicago, IL 60614
773.325.8519